Cant install leopard on G5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by blazerbro79, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. blazerbro79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #1
    I recently bought a older mac(emac G5), and today i bought leopard. I go to install it and it says my mac isnt a intell-mac. I was wondering if theres a way to tell if my mac is an "intell-mac" or am i just wasting my time with leopard.
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Leopard should install fine on an INTEL Mac. However, did you buy Leopard or SNOW Leopard? There is a difference.
     
  3. shwc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    #3
    G5 is the "power pc chip" architecture, not an intel architecture. Snow Leopard will not install on the G5.
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    If you just bought Leopard it's likely it is snow leopard, which is intel-only.
     
  5. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    eMac only has g4 processor, that's PPC, not intel
    if you have iMac g5, that's PPC, not intel

    everymac.com to look at your specs.
     
  6. blazerbro79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    #6
    yeah it was snow. and i thought i had a G5. im a newb to this. well i know what im doin tomorow lol. thanks for the help :)
     

Share This Page