Cant Install Leopard WTF?!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by littlefighter2, Apr 26, 2010.

1. littlefighter2 macrumors newbie

I am ready to explode of anger because of this $&*&*

i am trying to install Leopard over a week on a mac book pro i bought (duo 2 core,3gb ram)

When i bought it,the os was 10.6 (Snow Leopard),bougt a DVD but when i am trying to install i keep getting: '' Cannot install on this Machine''

So i searched the forums...,i found out i have to use the ''original OSX install dvd'' so i tried Leopard.

Got the dvd...trying to boot with it (push ALT and choose the DVD) it reads the dvd...then it reboots ? and does the same nothing more (with that awful apple sound)

i am more a windows user,but i thougt apple is a bit easy,but this really beginning to kill me :mad::mad:

2. SimonJ macrumors regular

I'm no expert myself, but I do know that you just can't install older versions of OS X on newer macs. It has something to do with a lack of drivers on those versions of OS X. Why would you want to install Leopard over SL anyway? SL is IMHO better in every respect..

3. eawmp1 macrumors 601

eawmp1

You can't install an OS version that predates your Mac.
    Could you tell us why you would want to? I can uderstand in the Windows world downgrading from Vista to XP, but not from SL to Leopard. If you must run Leopard, install on external HD and boot from that drive.

4. plinden macrumors 68040

plinden

What version of the MBP did you buy? Was it pre-Snow Leopard?
    What DVD did you buy - is it grey or does it have a picture of a snow leopard on it? If you bought a non-retail DVD, it won't install unless it matches exactly the Mac you have.
    Again, what DVD is this? Did it come with the Mac when you bought it?

Well, it should at least tell you that you can't install on the Mac.

If you're using a retail copy of Snow Leopard or a valid copy of Leopard, there's a problem. Are you near an Apple Store?

5. littlefighter2 thread starter macrumors newbie