Can't install Mac OS X on my MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RazerRazer, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. RazerRazer, Sep 7, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014

    RazerRazer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    I have a little problem with my 2010 MacBook Pro 13". I was unable to start my Mac, when at the apple boot screen, after a little while, the apple changed to a prohibitory sign and the little circle kept spinning. Weirdly, I was still able to boot into my Bootcamp partition. I was unable to repair permissions or wipe the HD using my recovery partition, the disk utility always froze and showed different errors. So I was researching this problem and some people with similar problems said it was a faulty HD in their case. So I purchased a new HD and put it in my Mac, connected a bootable Mac OS X Mavericks installer USB to my Mac, chose it as the startup device, and then the same problem, the apple changes to a prohibitory sign. Hmm..., do you have any idea what to do?
    Thanks

    EDIT:
    here's the pic of the prohibitory sign in case you don't know what I'm talking about ;) :
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Reboot while holding Cmd-V to get more details, and take another picture when it freezes.
     
  3. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    The 2010's are known to have a sketchy hard drive cable, if I were to guess I'd replace it.
     
  4. RazerRazer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #4

    Thanks, here you go:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1410171935.572979.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1410171953.341182.jpg
     
  5. RazerRazer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #5

    But wouldn't that mean that Bootcamp would not boot, too?
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    That's the part that leaves me a bit confused. But I've seen a few threads on here where the symptoms were the exact same.
     
  7. RazerRazer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    #7

    But even if it would be a faulty HD cable, why wouldn't the Mac boot the installation on the USB? It doesn't require the HD. Confusing
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    There's nothing obvious to me in the verbose log, but hopefully someone else will have some ideas.
     
  9. GhettoMrBob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #9
    Try disconnecting the internal HD and booting to the install USB.

    If that doesn't work I'd try pulling/swapping RAM and trying again if you're up to it.
     

Share This Page