Can't Install Mountain Lion GM

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Jack9034, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Jack9034 macrumors member

    Jack9034

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    #1
    When I choose what disk I want to install it on it asks for my Apple Id and then it says I cant install it because i didnt sign in with an apple id that has purchased lion. My laptop came with lion preinstalled so i didnt purchase it.how do i work around this.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #2
    have you registered your machine to your apple ID when you purchased it?

    I already had Lion when I purchased my MBP which shipped with it, but when I set up my machine I think i had to register the installed iLife 11 applications to my AppleID.


    if in doubt, i'd fire off an email or phone call to apple and explain your situation, i'm sure they'll be all too happy to help.


    You are a registered developer, right? (otherwise, apple will likely tell you to kindly stop pirating their pre-release software)
     
  3. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    same issue:

    restored the GM to USB drive. i was going to CLEAN install it on early 2008 15" MBP to test it before i put on my 2012 MBP. But i encounter messages like: you need to be connected to internet to verify.... bla bla.

    if i connect, it asks for apple ID and even if i sign it it says this account did not purchase Lion etc. as the OP

    disappointment. so there is no way to do a clean install on older MAC ?
    how would you be able to clean install it on machines that came originally with 10.5 ?
     
  4. Graeme43 macrumors 6502a

    Graeme43

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Great Britain (Glasgow)
    #4
    That message is odd because I thought you could update to 10.8 from 10.6 :confused:
     
  5. buddybd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #5
  6. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #6
    Post this on the internal developer forums. They'll surely help you.
     
  7. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
  8. buddybd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #8
    MBA 2011 11" i7 4GB.

    There is an InstallESD.dmg. I got mine off torrents btw.
     
  9. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    got it from same online source. but i don't rememember seeing the InstallESD.dmg in the OSX 10.8 GM. can you post sceen shot of the "show package content" ? where is it located ? did you restore just that file then on the USB stick ?
     
  10. arbitrage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #10
    My new RMBP that is registered with Apple won't let me install the 10.8GM but I was able to install it on my 2008 Unibody 13"MB that had purchased lion from the App store. Oh well, just a week or so to go and I'll get my free copies from my RMBP and 2012 MBA.

    BTW, I got the same message as the OP on my RMBP and on my 2012 Air. DP4 installed fine on my 2012 Air. Never tried it on my RMBP and I won't as the consumer release is so close now.
     
  11. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #11
    The file most people downloaded IS the InstallESD.dmg. If you open it, it should mount as 'Install Mac OS X ESD'. You can run the Install OS X.app file directly from the DMG to do an upgrade, or restore the entire thing to a flash drive and do a clean install. Simple. Exactly the same as 10.7.
     
  12. Jack9034 thread starter macrumors member

    Jack9034

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    #12
    I found a solution (well it worked for me anyways) for all the people who have been getting the error saying they had not purchase Lion that I posted. I moved the install application to my applications folder. It seems that I only got the error while I tried to install it from there. When I opened the install application from the dmg it worked fine. :D
     
  13. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #13
    Can you do a get info on that file? Is is ~4gb or ~21mb? If it is the small one, then of course it didn't work. Once you move that app out of the disk image, it can't find the Packages folder it is looking for, so it looks online for them.
     
  14. arbitrage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #14
    Thanks, I tried again on my 2012 Air and it worked. I think with the DP4 I had to drag the installer to the Applications folder so I thought I needed to do this with the GM also. Not so. It worked properly while running directly after opening the DMG.
     
  15. menano macrumors regular

    menano

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Neverland
    #15
    urgent

    well I had already erased all of my hard drive when I first encountered this issue. I have a bootable Mountain Lion DVD, and I'm afraid I won't be able to install it.

    Can anyone help me please? This is kind of urgent as it literally just happened to me and I can't afford not to have my computer!
     

Share This Page