Can't install new safari

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by drawds, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. drawds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #1
    Trying to install Safari 3 on my G5 OS 10.4.9 and gives me this:
    [​IMG]

    Anyone with the same problems and a solution?
     
  2. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    Rename Your Safari-whatever "Safari" Will Fix The Installer

    Yes. Make sure your Safari is NAMED Safari. Then make a Duplicate (Command+D) as buggy 3 will write over your solid 2 version.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    It does come with an uninstaller.
     
  4. drawds thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    #4
    My Safari was inside a folder called Internet (I have my apps organised in subfolders)
    I moved it to root and it installed it fine! :D
    Thanks!
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    You're not going to be able to get updates for some of those programs if you don't have them in their default location.
     
  6. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #6
    Sub-Folders In The Applications Folder Are Generally Not Recommended

    Subfolders inside the Applications folder - particularly separating the Apple Applications are not a good idea as they interact with one another and need to see each other at the root level of that folder to do so.
     
  7. pastimes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #7
    Safari 300 Is Unstable

    I installed Safari 3.0 and spent the next hour on the phone with tech support. Seems it is causing the system to crash.I was among many to call with the same problem. It would not allow me to do anything until I used the reinstall disk. Funny thing is it works perfect in Boot Camp with Windows.
     
  8. CaptainHaddock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Location:
    Nagoya, Japan
    #8
    This isn't a thread about Safari compliants — do that somewhere else.

    I'm having this problem too. All my drives say they "don't meet the requirements" for installing Safari 3. I have not moved my existing Safari app.
     

Share This Page