can't install nitotv !!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jalo215, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. jalo215 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #1
    I have atv2 4.4.3 jb. I'm trying to install nitotv using putty on windows 7. I found the commands online but when I enter the commands I get a error message :

    Apple-TV:~ root# apt-get install wget
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    wget is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Apple-TV:~ root# wget -O- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub | apt-key add -
    /usr/bin/apt-key: line 161: run-parts: command not found
    --2012-03-16 06:26:12-- http://apt.awkwardtv.org/awkwardtv.pub
    Resolving apt.awkwardtv.org... failed: nodename nor servname provided, or not known.
    wget: unable to resolve host address `apt.awkwardtv.org'
    gpg: no valid OpenPGP data found.

    anyone have any ideas why this keeps happening and what can I do to fix it??
     
  2. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    Do the following:

    Code:
     apt-get install wget
       wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16129573/com.nito.deb
       dpkg -i com.nito.deb
       apt-get update
       apt-get install com.nito.nitotv
       killall Lowtide
     
  3. jalo215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #3
    tried the code you gave me but this is message i get:


    Apple-TV:~ root# apt-get install wget
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    wget is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Apple-TV:~ root# wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16129573/com.nito.deb
    --2012-03-16 07:58:22-- http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16129573/com.nito.deb
    Resolving dl.dropbox.com... failed: nodename nor servname provided, or not known.
    wget: unable to resolve host address `dl.dropbox.com'
    Apple-TV:~ root# dpkg -i com.nito.deb
    dpkg: error processing com.nito.deb (--install):
    cannot access archive: No such file or directory
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    com.nito.deb
    Apple-TV:~ root# apt-get install com.nito.nitotv
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    E: Couldn't find package com.nito.nitotv
    Apple-TV:~ root#
     
  4. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    You are having connections issues, make sure you are in fact connected to the internet, and that you are not behind a firewall, you are not resolving the DNS.

    run:
    you should get 5 pings back if you are connected and no block by a firewall
     
  5. jalo215, Mar 16, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012

    jalo215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #5
    when I go my network settings on my atv2 I get :

    Ip address dhcp 169.254.**.**
    subnet mask 255.255.0.
    router address n/a
    dns address n/a


    is it suppose to be like that ?
    if not how do I fix it?

    ----------

    ok I figure it out I had it connected wired and I just went wireless instead and it work .

    thank for your help maturola
     
  6. jalo215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #6
    I'm back kinda strange... I was able to install nitotv but I can't install xbmc thru nitotv but I get this message:

    E:Type '.deb'is not known on line 1 in source list /etc/apt/source.list.d/xbmc.list
    E:the list of sources could not be read


    any ideas whats going on here?
     
  7. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    you seen to be missing the .deb

    Try this using terminal:

     
  8. jalo215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #8
    I was just wondering if there is anything I can do thru WinSCP ,either remove or add ?
     
  9. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    What happen when you ran what i told you? did you get same error?
     
  10. jalo215 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #10
    yes same thing happen. I have also used putty. It was strange cause I was able to install nitotv and reboot my atv2 and started to install some software until I got to xbmc it wouldnt allow me to and gave me that message.
     

Share This Page