Can't install OSX: Screen back-light turns off

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gabriel GR, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. Gabriel GR macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #1
    Hi. I've installed OSX successfully many times but this one, with a new WD disk gives me trouble.

    After the gray screen is gone and the installation menu starts, the back-light turns off and I can't do anything about it. Any idea why that happens and how I can deal with it?

    I am working on a Mid 2009 13" Macbook pro with 2.26ghz and 8GB of RAM.
     
  2. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #2
    Can you put in the original RAM for install maybe?
    And are you using a disc that has an older version of OS X that originally came on the macbook?
    That's about my only suggestions besides installing on an external display.
     
  3. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #3
    Sounds like a bad LCD inverter, but do that model even use an inverter for the backlight? :confused:
     
  4. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #4
    I had this happen when reinstalling Leopard on a pre-unibody Macbook Pro.
    Found my Snow Leopard disc and it came up and installed just fine.

    Weirdest thing ever, though.
     
  5. Gabriel GR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #5
    Thank's. I'll try resetting the PRAM/SMC and if it doesn't work I'll replace the ram. I am using a blank new disk and I am trying to install from the SD card.

    It's not a screen issue as I am typing this reply from that exact macbook.

    What do you mean found your Snow Leopard disk? What were you installing from when you had the issue?
     
  6. Gabriel GR thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Gabriel GR

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    #6
    FYI, reset the SMC and everything worked fine.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page