Can't install security updates

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by moondad, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. moondad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    Finally managed to get XP Pro installed (full retail) in bootcamp.

    A couple of things:

    Firstly, having successfully installed sp3, it is now failing every time it tries to install 10 new updates it has downloaded. It makes no difference if I do it automatically, or manually.

    I've tried all the fixed I can source, i.e. Dial-A-Fix and microsoft's own fixes.

    Secondly, I don't recall having to activate this copy, and there is no activation notice.

    It was a sealed, genuine copy I bought off ebay - box, disc and packaging all seem to be authentic.

    Anyone else not had to activate their copy?
     
  2. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #2
    It's not likely. Any retail copy, OEM or not, would have a CD key you'd have to put in. Try this to find out;

    http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/

    Your copy may be counterfeit - they can be very convincing, unfortunately.
     
  3. moondad thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #3
    I did have to put a CD key in.

    What isn't happening is the activation that's supposed to be necessary after the install.

    I have already checked it with microsoft genuine. It checks out fine.
     
  4. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #4
    Is it saying that it can't be activated online?
     
  5. moondad thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #5
    It's not saying anything about activation anywhere.

    There is no icon in the tray, no alerts or reminders about it.
     
  6. MM07 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    Well, maybe you can forget about activation at this point in time.

    On your first question, have you installed IE 7 and all the updates for it?

    After I installed XP on my MacBook, I couldn't get the 92 updates that I needed. I tried one at a time and it failed. After I installed IE 7 I got to do all the updates. It has been working fine to this day.
     
  7. moondad thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #7
    Yes, I updated IE 7 today, but still the same thing, unfortunately.

    The thing is, it always downloads the updates with no problem, it just fails to install any of them, and when I did it on the microsoft update page, I checked the history, and it came up with an error code, which of course came up blank on their search engine.
     
  8. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #8
    All programs > accessories > system tools . You should be able to activate windows from there
     
  9. moondad thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #9
    I'm beginning to wonder if I just did it during setup without thinking about it. It was about 2am..

    Anyway, the bigger issue atm is not being able to install these damn updates. Nothing I do seems to make any difference to this.
     

Share This Page