Can't install Yosemite from SD card

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by crucius, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. crucius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I ordered the new MacBook yesterday and I want to sell my MacBook Pro. However, the HDD stopped working so I swapped it with a new SSD. However, I couldn't make a restore via Internet Recovery because the only option I have is to reinstall Yosemite and when I try to do it it gives me an error and won't install and I don't have the original DVDs.

    I downloaded Yosemite again on a spare Windows PC and created a bootable SD card (Samsung SDHC 32 Gb) using TransMac (can't remember if this is the right one). After several hours of waiting, I tried booting from the card but when normally I would choose which partition to boot with, there is none and the only thing that appears on the screen is to choose a network. However, if I ignore all of that and go back to the Internet recovery menu and then disk utility, both SSD and SD card appear as mounted.

    There's a guy interested in buying the MBP and I would like to have this sorted out right away. Thanks!


    Technical details

    MacBook Pro mid-2010 base model
    Previous OSX installation: Yosemite
    Desired OSX version: Yosemite
    Installing from: SD card/Internet recovery
     
  2. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
  3. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #3
    The software you used likely failed to make the SD card bootable.
    Normally, there should be no issues using SD cards (I used one myself a few years ago), but try a USB flash drive instead. Perhaps your application will have more success with that.
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    It's impossible to create a bootable external OS X device other than using a secondary Mac to do it, via DiskMaker X, as far as I know.
     
  5. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #5
    You are wrong, though, as I have done it in the past (not on mine, however). At any rate I don't have another Mac until I receive my new MacBook and that may take a long while apparently. I need to do this today to sell it. I will try using another media, and perhaps another application as well. If some of you have other tips be my guest!
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    Older versions of OS X like Lion and Mountain Lion could be done, because it just involved re-imaging the InstallESD.dmg onto a USB device.

    It's no longer the case in Mavericks and Yosemite.
     
  7. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #7
    Ah, right! So if I can get a copy of mountain lion I'm good to go? There are loads of tutorials using Yosemite, so I just assumed it would work the same. Sorry.
     
  8. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #8
    - If you've previously downloaded it from the Mac App Store, it will be available for download under "Purchases".
     
  9. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
  10. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #10
    - Of course. Sorry about that.
    Try looking a few inches up and to the right on your screen.
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    Yes, but first, do you have access to a Mac to get the ML image?

    Oh and you might want to reconsider.

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/04/10/hacker_digs_up_os_x_root_backdoor/

    Anything older than 10.10.2 is affected (and remains unpatched) by this vulnerability.
     
  12. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #12
    I do have an ML image, and I will update to Mavericks and then Yosemite after having something running on my Mac.
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
  14. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #14
    Still doesn't work. I'm starting to get a bit desperate, the computer is right now a glorified paperweight...
     
  15. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #15
    A TimeMachine Backup would do as well. If it was done, and properly (i.e. without exclusion of system files).
     
  16. crucius thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    Portugal
    #16
    Anyways, eventually I got hold of the original dvds and was able to install snow leopard and from the onwards was just a question of updating.
     

Share This Page