Can't launch Apple Hardware Test

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bdog79, Jul 18, 2016.

  1. Bdog79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #1
    I recently got a used iMac 21.5 inch Late 2009 Model 10,1for free that had a failing HDD and a bad graphics card. Apple store wanted 600-800$ for the fix. So, I decided to venture on my own being that paying to fix a six year oldiMac was almost the cost of a new one. I took apart the iMac and replaced the HDD with a Samsung 840 SSD that I had laying around and tried to bake the graphics card. The baking has seem to "fix" the graphics card for now and the SSD is working okay. I also ordered a mounting bracket for the SSD and the OWC in-line digital thermal sensor for iMac 2010 that connects to the sata port and provides compatibility for temperature readings. Link:https://eshop.macsal...C/DIDIMACHDD09/



    My problem is that the ODD fan is blowing constantly. I've tried re-setting my SMC and restarting my PRAM/NVRAM. I downloaded Macs Fan Control and it shows the ODD fan at 0rpm even though I can clearly hear it on and blowing. I've tried unplugging the fan from the logic board and that does make it stop, but my temperature values all over start to creep up. My HDD and CPU fans seem to be fine and hover around 1100 and 1200 rpms and will respond to my controls in Macs Fan Control. The ODD, does not respond. It just keeps blowing regardless. Here is a screenshot:



    [​IMG]



    I know that there is reported issues with the ODD fans blowing on high after upgrading to a SSD, but the in-line temperature sensor is suppose to correct that.



    I tried to launch Apple Hardware Test by holding down D at start up and the boot process does pause for about a minute but never goes into the test program. Holding down option (alt on my keyboard) D doesn't do anything.



    So my question is: I installed 10.11.5 from a USB stick made from a download from app store on the new SSD. I don't have the current install cd that came with the iMac in 2009 (Lion? Snow Leopard?) and with the superdrive spitting out every disc I put in, I don't think that is even an option if I did track it down. Is there any other way to launch Apple Hardware Test that I haven't tried? I really don't want to spend 100$ for Techtool pro.



    Thanks for any suggestions.
     
  2. komatsu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    #2
  3. briloronmacrumo macrumors 6502

    briloronmacrumo

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Apple's Hardware Test support page covers most of the details. It does take a little time for the test to engage, so you have to give it time and watch for the icon noted in the instructions. With the inline-sensor cable installed it shouldn't require any of those fan control apps like smcFanControl/Macs Fan Control. However unlikely, it's possible that cable isn't connected or isn't working. More concerning is not being able to boot AHT. Maybe you overlaid it? Have you tried downloading a copy from here?
    I'm not confident in that link, so proceed carefully.

    You indicated an unwillingness to purchase TechTool Pro but it's a good tool and could be useful in the future.


    It is a good tool for checking software, and software checks often uncover issues, however, it does not specifically check hardware and isn't a hardware tester like Apple's Hardware Test
     
  4. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #4
    Your iMac is too old to support AHT over the internet. If AHT is not on your hard drive, then you need to insert AHT Applications Install Disc 2 that came with your computer if you still have it.
     
  5. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #5
    The fan is running because the sensor is part of the hard drive, use a fan utility and disable that sensor and make than fan come on for something elses temp.

    I use TG Pro, it costs but free updates and works great.
     
  6. roadkill401 macrumors 6502

    roadkill401

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    #6
    Not to hijack the thread, but I was wondering what the opinions was for TG Pro vs iStat Menu? Not that my iMac has a real need for turning on or off sensors, I would just prefer to have the knowledge of what the sensors are saying. What temp the iMac is running at and the ability to turn on the fans sooner when I am going to run apps that I know heat up the system so that it will stay cooler
     
  7. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #7
    Thanks everyone for the posts. I'm not to familiar with TG Pro or iStat. I to am curious which one is better. Is one easier to use over the other? Is the software pretty straight forward in disabling and assigning sensors?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2016 ---
    Don't have it and as I mentioned above, the SuperDrive is crap.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 19, 2016 ---
    Ill double check the in line cable again. A third time won't hurt I also ordered a used ODD fan for 20$ to see if it is the actual fan as well.
     
  8. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #8
    Any fan control that works is fine but I use TG Pro and it works for me and to me had a breakdown of every sensor on the imac I have. iStat didnt have that when I was originally looking for my model at the time so its why I went with TG. Im sure they both do now. TG allows me to set fan speeds and boost on sensor ranges pretty easily, and I can turn it off and go stock, but at this point I dont and I have kept my reflowed imac GPUs going a long time now.
     
  9. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #9
    I like the price of TG Pro Kinda confused on how I can link to ODD fan to another temperature sensor like gpu for instance. I guess I'll just have to play around with the program and will return if I have any questions.
     
  10. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #10
    Set the fan to read the ODD and switch any fan that shows HDD temp to say screen temp gauge, then you should be all set.
     
  11. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #11
    So I downloaded TG Pro and I've noticed that the program is not displaying my hard drive. My Macs Fan Control shows the SSD by model name and gives it a temperature value. The TG Pro has nothing. I opened up computer again and made sure the in line temperature sensor was seated properly and replaced the ODD fan with a used one. No change with the new fan. The screenshot of TG Pro is attached. Why is it not showing my hard drive if Macs Fan Control is showing it?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #12
    Well the early imacs had a fan issue as the hard drive being changed out caused fan weirdness. Dont worry about the sensor was my point because of that. Set one of the fan control programs to use another sensor close to control that fan. Again this is a known issue from way back. I didnt have 1 then to read the specifics, but a google may help that out. Any that I have fixed I just put in TG Pro set the screen temp as what drives the center fan and called it good.
     
  13. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #13

    Okay, so I set up a rule that would have my HDD fan turn on to 100% when my GPU heatsink got above 70 degrees just to test. That seemed to work. The ODD fan just keeps on blowing though. I tried to link the ODD fan speed to the GPU heatsink temperature and set the fan to blow at 10% and there is no change to the sound coming from the ODD fan. So, can I just unplug the ODD fan and have the HDD and CPU fans take the load when it gets hot enough? If I can manage the temp with those two fans? Is that acceptable? I would prefer to use all the fans, but short of a step by step, I'm at a loss.
     
  14. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #14
    The fan keeps running when you set the sensor for it to something else? That makes no sense. I would not unplug the fan. You have zones, each fan covers a zone. It why i suggested screen for the HDD as its the center and gpu for the ODD as thats should be the same zone in that mac. Are you sure you set the program to "override" the stock settings. I know TG had to be told to override it, but i can go to stock with a click in it.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 22, 2016 ---
    Could you have plugged in the sensor to the motherboard in different places? the lines across the top are all pretty close.
     
  15. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #15

    I've checked multiple times. I have the HDD temp sensor plugged into the slot marked HD Temp on the motherboard. Mac Fan Control gets a reading, but TG Pro can't find it. But you said that wasn't that big of a problem. So I attached the screen shot of the test I just did. When I executed it, TG Pro said that the ODD fan was going to auto boost to 10% (because I set the value lower than what the current GPU temp was). But there was no change in the volume of the ODD fan. Still seems like it is on high.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #16
    Wonder why it says one of the fans is not working correctly at the bottom.
     
  17. Bdog79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    #17
    It's always said that. Which made me think the fan was no good. Got a used fan installed and the same alert and no change to fan. Could it be a logic board issue?
     
  18. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #18
    It could be, The electrolytic fluid in the capacitors could be at there usage limit and could do any number of things.
     

Share This Page