Cant Load Maps in Team fortress 2 since update

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Gekopa, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. Gekopa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #1
    Today I opened up steam and noticed that it had downloaded an update for TF2. I let it download and when it was complete, I started the game. It was all working fine until I joined a server. Then TF2 suddenly quit and it gave me an error message that said something like "hl2_osx unexpectedly shut down". I restarted the game and tried joining another server, only to get the same error. I tried restarting Steam a few times, but I had no luck. I also tried rebooting my Macbook but it didnt help either. Does anyone know what might be the problem? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    When you try to get into a game, can you get to the screen where you choose your team? I can get to that point, but the graphics on that screen (with the RED and BLU doors) are all messed up. When I click on either of the doors to get into the game, TF2 quits and I get the same error message as you. I played last night with no issues, and the only change for me was the update I just downloaded.
     
  3. plethon macrumors newbie

    plethon

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    I get this as well, but more fun is the occasional video card freakout, resulting in the only "hold down the power button" reboots I've ever been reduced to on my MBP.
     
  4. dead goon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  5. Matthew9559 macrumors 6502a

    Matthew9559

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Same thing happening to me basically.

    I am able to load map, get to team select (which has a lot of artifacts) and then once I chose a team it crashes. Lame. Get same error.
     
  6. Gekopa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #6
    Yeah, that's EXACTLY my problem!
     
  7. T-Stex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    You'd think they'd have tested this...
     
  8. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
  9. plethon macrumors newbie

    plethon

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #9
    The door bug is, but I'm still getting horrifying video card related crashes.
     
  10. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #10
    If you are on 10.6.4 on a machine with NV graphics, this is an issue which will need to be resolved with an updated driver (or go back to 10.6.3).
     
  11. Nystral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #11
  12. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #12
    Products supported only states GTX 285 mentioned. Does that update work with newer cards too? After all, they are unified (one driver suits all) aren't they.
     
  13. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #13
  14. Nystral macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    #14
    I have an 8600-based MBP so I don't know. I'm at work and haven't tried it.
     
  15. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #15

Share This Page