Can't lower display colors enough, Sim City!

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by antdfsc, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. antdfsc macrumors member

    antdfsc

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Mass
    #1
    Hey, I have a copy of Sim City classic, I tried installing on my MBP, no classic/can't lower the screen resolution low enough. I picked up a Power Mac 5500/225 from work, figuring it would do the trick. I can't get the graphics any lower then 256, the game wants 16! It also has a black and white game, but even after I turned the monitor to black and white, restarted, still didn't see it as two tone. Any ideas? I love the original version of the game, and even though I know people claim you can play on the Maxis site, they never send me a log in, no matter how many times I try! Any ideas would be great. Thanks!
     
  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #2
    Replace the Powermac with an LCII or a compact Mac with a B&W screen. What OS is on the Powermac?
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    Use an emulator.
    Basilisk or SheepShaver works great, I can play all my old games with them.
     
  4. antdfsc thread starter macrumors member

    antdfsc

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Mass
    #4
    I tried to download sheepshaver, but every link was dead. The site said you could download via CVS but I couldnt understand how to get any of that to work... I wish they would just re-release it for newer computers, that would make this so much easier!
     
  5. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #5
    For you. It would be so much harder (and expensive) for them.
     
  6. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    I know ah! I also play SimCity sometimes but it sucks that I can only play it on my iBook G3 or iMac G3 ...
     
  7. MacinDan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
  8. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    I tend to find that programs like Sheepshaver don't really work as well as "the real thing" (the real thing being a PPC mac). I've tried using sheepshaver on a lot of different computers, and sometimes it has worked... But nothing can really compare to an iBook G3 or an iMac G3 ;)
     
  9. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    With some tuning SheepShaver works very well!
    I have installations with both OS 7.5.5, OS and OS 9 for different programs and games.
    If you play around with different ROM files, luckily I have several older macs to get ROMs from :)

    I'm using rom from my beige G3 for OS8, from my Sawtooth G4 for the OS9 installation and from my old 7100 for 7.5.5-

    With basilisk i have roms from my old IIsi and Centris 650
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    Sheepshaver just needs itself and the ROM of the old operating system, doesn't it?
     
  11. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #11
    Yes, but you need a source for ROMs, having old machines around makes it easy and legal.
     
  12. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #12
    Sure does! :D But surely OS9 isn't copyright still is it? Or if it was, it wouldn't be enforced...
     

Share This Page