Can't make calls/use data since upgrading to 3.0?!!?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by pauld, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. pauld macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo (London for the holidays!)
    #1
    I can't see any current posting detailing this particular 'quirk' of updating to 3.0.

    - - - -

    I was jailbroken (for the express purpose of using with foreign sims and not else other than an emoji hack). I was on 2.1 as far as i can remember.

    I updated my iTunes to 8.2, and then my iPhone to 3.0.

    I 've got full bars (O2), but can't make calls at all, CAN send texts, but can't get any data (other than through WIFI).

    I've now totally restored and there is no trace of my previous jailbreak.



    Has anything similar happened to anyone else?
    Does anyone have any idea of what could be going on here, or how I would go about rectifying it?

    Thanks a lot,
    Paul
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  3. dankes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #3
    Hi

    i'm having similar problems - can make calls but everything else seems to have gone pete tong! (wrong!)

    Am hoping someone clever will come up with a solution soon.

    D x
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    See my post above; otherwise...

    If non-data functions are working but data functions (web and apps that use the web) are not, then check your APN settings -- the 3.0 update blanked mine for some reason, and I had to enter them back in.
     
  5. pauld thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo (London for the holidays!)
    #5
    QuickPwn, but I'm on the legit UK carrier and contract.
    Since I've got text ability too presumably I wouldn't fall into the error that you've linked to? Thanks a lot for the suggestion though.
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    I think it still could. The problem has to do with the way that Quickpwn activates the phone, I think, even if the legitimate carrier is used. I believe the fix is to re-install a Pwnage tool'd version of 2.x and then upgrade to 3.0 and/or to install a Pwnage'd version of 3.0 with the new version of Pwnage Tool for 3.0....
     
  7. RedTomato macrumors 68040

    RedTomato

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Location:
    .. London ..
    #7
    I am having the same problem too.

    I have a completely clean PAYG iphone 2G on 02 UK. Never been jaibroken. Everytime I try to use a data service, (after upgrading to 3.0) it says "Could not activate cellular data network: you are not subscribed a cellular data service".

    Of course, this is bollocks. Just a couple of hours before upgrading to 3.0, I had a text message from O2 saying my data bolt-on expires on the 22nd June and £10 will be taken for the next month's data on that date.

    EDIT: After checking teh Google, I tried a reboot of the iphone. Didn't work. Then I tried resetting the Cellular Data settings. Didn't work. Then I tried changing the APN settings from idata.o2.co.uk to payandgo.o2.co.uk.

    Bingo. Worked. Sorted.
     
  8. pauld thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    Tokyo (London for the holidays!)
    #8
    Update to this - when I checked with my girl and my flatmate (both on non-iPhone O2 handsets) their phones couldn't make calls either [from around 8PM - 1AM, Bethnal Green area] - presumably there was some local London O2 outage, inconveniently during the time that I had attempted to update to 3.0 - 4 hours of pulling my hair out for nothing! But at least it works.

    Thanks for all of your help.

    Paul
     

Share This Page