Can't not install MacOS X to hard drive.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RileyIL77, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. RileyIL77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, Alabama
    #1
    I'm trying to restore my PowerPC G3 Desktop after lightning took out my 20 Gig HDD. I tried using a spare 40 Gig HDD... I partitioned it so I had one 4 Gig Partition and the other was a 36 Gig Partition. After awhile during the install of MacOS X 10.2 it would go through to the end of the first disk where it claimed it would reboot. Once the reboot was finished it would scroll left to right on about the first 3 or 4 lines of the monitor: can't OPEN:

    Then it would reboot and go through the samething. When I replaced the 40 Gig HDD with the original 4 Gig HDD that came with the PowerPC G3. When I try to install MacOS X 10.2 on the 4 Gig HDD I get this error message:

    Can't not install MacOS X to hard drive. The destination is not within first 8 GB of Hard Drive.

    Any ideas of what is causing the 4 Gig HDD not to allow the install? Please don't tell me to install MacOS 9 first or to split the 4 Gig into two Partitions.
     
  2. RileyIL77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, Alabama
    #2
    I used my MacOS 9 CD to erase the partition on the 4 GB HDD. MacOSX 10.2.8 installed fine. Everything is a go. I'll try that with my 40 GB HDD in a little whiel and see if I can use it. I'll also keep the 4 Gig on reserve just incase! :)
     
  3. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #3
    Did you change the partition format correctly? PPC macs need the APM (apple partition map ) to work and boot
     
  4. Legion93 macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
  5. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
  6. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #7
    Yes i have one in my lounge room!
     
  7. Legion93 macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #8
    You planning on getting an iMac? Much better.
     
  8. Ommid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #9
    I heard museums are paying alot for those things

    Put Lion on it
     
  9. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #10
    Orders of magnitudes better
     
  10. Legion93 macrumors 6502a

    Legion93

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Death Star, Rishi Maze
    #11
    LMAO my local antiques dealer would very much be interested. What does it run, Cheetah or Puma? :d
     
  11. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #12
    already have check meh signature
     
  12. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #13
    Only if it's powered by Intel!
     
  13. RileyIL77, Apr 24, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2011

    RileyIL77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Hamilton, Alabama
    #14
    I want to say thank guys. I was also able to fix my Compaq DVD-113R and firmware update it with Pioneer DVD-113 Firmware and now my Macintosh will boot with it. Thanks for all your help. I'm formatting my 40 Gig HDD with MacOS 9, and hoping it will fix it just like the 4 Gig HDD, so I can install MacOS X 10.2 on it. Thanks again!

    Yes, a friend of mine who programs Macintosh/Apple software, is switching from less Macintosh computer program to iPhone/iPad Apps programming is sending me his iMac G4. This will sit on my computer desk really nicely and look like I have a monitor for my actual PC server machine. LOL!
     

Share This Page