Can't open adobe?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by blahblahblahx, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. blahblahblahx, Aug 10, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012

    blahblahblahx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #1
    The other day, I moved my adobe folders (documents) to (preferences)
    Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 8.15.31 PM.png
    When I tried opening the apps,
    Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 7.45.25 PM.png Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 7.49.20 PM.png Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 8.18.52 PM.png
    I want to reinstall it but then I don't have the serial. Help?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2


    Maybe use some formatting tools like pressing ENTER when inserting images the next time to make your post easier to read.

    Anyway, as to your problem. Did you move the Adobe folders from Macintosh HD / Applications to a Preferences folder, if so which one? Can you provide exact paths*?
    Why the move and why no serials?

    * in Finder, select VIEW > SHOW PATH BAR

    To learn more about Mac OS X: Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
     
  3. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Why don't you have the serial number? If you own a legitimate copy, but have lost it, call Adobe and see if you can retrieve the information (if you registered it initially, I believe they can). If not, go buy it. You're probably not going to be able to get around this without reinstalling.

    jW
     
  4. blahblahblahx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #4
    lol sorry. When I bought the laptop from an apple premium reseller store, they asked me if I wanted to have the Adobe & Microsoft office 2011, I agreed and they installed it so i don't know what the serials are. The adobe folders were originally located here:
    Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 9.17.01 PM.png
    to here:
    Screen Shot 2012-08-10 at 9.13.03 PM.png
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    My recommendation is to reinstall. As Mal pointed out, adobe should be able to retrieve your serial number, just give your purchase details.

    ----------

    Well then it looks like you have pirated software on your computer and the only way to rectify this situation is to buy it.

    As a moderator, I also want to point out the rules regarding pirated software
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    If you have bought the suites (Office and Adobe) you should have gotten the install media for both. If not, and your receipt shows, that you purchased those suites legally, ask the reseller, why you didn't get any and that you want to have them.

    As for the moving thing, it seems like you moved the actual applications, which shouldn't have resided in the Documents folder in the first place. What moving those folders in your second screenshot to the Applications folder?
     
  7. blahblahblahx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #7
    I bought the apps but they were the ones that installed it.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    As Sim mentioned, if they're on your receipt you should have gotten the media. Contact the retailer and request that you get the media from them. You should have gotten serial numbers (maybe they're on your receipt) and media.
     
  9. blahblahblahx, Aug 10, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012

    blahblahblahx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #9
    http://i.imgur.com/Zwd9C.png http://i.imgur.com/65RIe.png
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.png
      1.png
      File size:
      129.1 KB
      Views:
      21
    • 2.png
      2.png
      File size:
      130.4 KB
      Views:
      26
    • 3.png
      3.png
      File size:
      138.4 KB
      Views:
      23
    • 4.png
      4.png
      File size:
      135.7 KB
      Views:
      18
    • 5.png
      5.png
      File size:
      125.9 KB
      Views:
      26
  10. blahblahblahx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #10
    I'm just gonna contact the reseller and have it reinstalled. Thank you guys for all the help! :)
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Why "have it reinstalled", when you can do it yourself with the actual media? No need to pay someone for that, if you have purchased the software legally and have the installation media*?

    PS: If the uninstallers do not work:

    * once you get it from the reseller
     
  12. blahblahblahx, Aug 10, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012

    blahblahblahx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    #12
    I meant I'm going to contact the reseller for the serials. Indesign, flash, photoshop have uninstall option. Thanks! :)
     
  13. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #13
    If they didn't give you the disks, then the software is pirated. It's not your fault, but you should get a lawyer involved, get your money back, and never deal with that shop again (and they should not be an Authorized Reseller, and I'm guessing they either aren't and lied to you, or Apple doesn't know they're doing this yet).

    There is no legal way that they could have installed the software on your machine and not provided you with the serial numbers.

    jW
     

Share This Page