Can't Open Application (PowerPC no longer supported)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by abastian, Dec 16, 2014.

  1. abastian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #1
    When I try to open an application in my Macbook Pro laptop, I get this error message:

    You can't open the application "?????" because PowerPC applications are no longer supported.

    What should I do to open this application in my Macbook Pro laptop?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    If you can tell us the name of the application you would like to use - somebody here can give you some ideas about how to work around that old software, or maybe recommend an app, either an update to the one that you want to use, or alternate app that may help you do the same task.
     
  3. abastian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #3
    It's a game. But another application have similar error.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    It's a tough tech life to try to keep using your old stuff :D
    Here's how that happens: You have some apps that you were using on an older OS X. Now, you have a newer Mac, or you have upgraded to a newer version of OS X that no longer supports PowerPC apps.
    Your new Mac and OS X system won't support the apps that you want to use, but there's several workarounds for that.

    If your Mac can still boot to the older OS X system, then that's one choice: Keep your games or other apps with the older OS X system, maybe on an external drive. Boot to that older system when you want to play (or work :D ) with the older apps.
    It's also possible to run an older OS X system in a virtual machine (using Parallels or VMWare, etc). I don't know how to set that up, but there's others on this site that can give some info about do ing that.
    Or, you could keep an older Mac around just for your chosen games and apps.

    Or - you could actually give us the game or app names - there may be other possibilities that you haven't considered yet.
     
  5. abastian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #5
    It's a Football Manager 2006 game.

    Please tell me how to install and open it in a newer OS X system?
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
  7. abastian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #7
    There is something I should do with my old FM2006 game. As I was said before, not only this game, another appl also can't be opened in my macbook. Anyone can tell me how to open them which has PowerPC not supported error?
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    The simplest way is to run it on a computer that supports that game.
    Where is the computer that worked with the FM2006 game?

    Another fix is to run that game on a Mac that is running Snow Leopard (OS X 10.6.8) or older. Apple dropped all support for the older PowerPC software with OS X 10.7 and later.
    And - that's why some people continue to keep Macs that can run Snow Leopard or older.
    Maybe you can install and run Snow Leopard on the Mac that you have now?
    What model Mac do you have?


    Can you name the other application that you need to use?
    Je suis presque certain le nom n'est pas simplement application.
     
  9. abastian, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014

    abastian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #9
    I sold it as a second hand.

    I don't think I will install and Snow Leopard in my Macbook pro.

    How do I know what model is my macbook pro?

    How to know it?

    Why you are so eager to know what application is used by me?

    Is this a question or a police interrogation?

    I just need information what should I do to open an application in my Macbook Pro if I have the "PowerPC not supported" error.

    You don't have to know what is the application I used.

    And I don't want Football Manager 2015.

    I need a solution.
     
  10. tywebb13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #10
    I have hundreds of old ppc apps and although many of them have been updated to intel versions, many others have not.

    To still run the ones that have not been updated, I use a virtual machine of snow leopard server with parallels. It works pretty good on my brand new 2014 model rmbp.

    Note that only the server versions of leopard and snow leopard are supported by parallels, vmware fusion and virtualbox.
     
  11. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #11
    Bloody hell you're hard work.

    They wanted to know which applications you wanted to run so they could, for free and in their spare time, do YOUR job and research if a newer, compatible version of that application was available.

    You cannot run PowerPC applications on any Mac OS version greater than 10.6.8 because Apple stopped production of the Rosetta emulation software that allowed old PowerPC apps to run.

    If your Mac can run 10.6.8 then install it and be done. If it can't then you can't run those old applications.

    They WERE giving you solutions, just because you didn't like the answers doesn't mean they weren't correct.
     
  12. abastian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    #12
    So I try a virtual machine you mentioned called VMware Fusion. I don't understand how to use it. It says it can't be used to run Windows applications in my macbook pro. Does it can be used to run application which has "PowerPC not supported" error? I wonder if anyone could guide me on how to use it?
     
  13. MichaelLAX macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #13
    I have posted all the information you seek on this forum, including step-by-step instructions on how to accomplish what you need.

    However, I have never been asked for help by anyone with anything close to your strange attitude about naming your PowerPC application.

    Quite honestly, if you have a good reason to not be forthcoming about what that application is, then I understand your hesitation and reluctance. In that case, I have a good reason to be reluctant to give you the information you seek. That reason is that I am willing to donate my time to support this problem for the larger good. Knowing your application will add to my information database, and I seek to share that information with others; not just you!

    Good luck!
     
  14. AlecZ macrumors 65816

    AlecZ

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #14
    Eh, this thread isn't going well.

    You need some context, first of all: Your Mac has an Intel processor and can't run PPC programs without emulation. Tiger, Leopard, and Snow Leopard included a PPC emulator, called Rosetta, built into the system so you could open PPC applications just like Intel applications. Apple abandoned Rosetta in Lion; Snow Leopard had it as an optional installation.

    Your options:

    1. Run the applications on a Mac running Snow Leopard or earlier with Rosetta installed. Or run them on a PPC Mac. You've said that you don't have such a Mac. You COULD install SL on your Mac on a second boot up partition, but it doesn't officially support that, and it would be a hassle.

    2. Run Snow Leopard in a virtual machine (VirtualBox, VMWare Fusion, Parallels, or other) on your new Mac, and run the applications inside the virtual machine. There are already hundreds of tutorials online that are better than what I could provide here, so you could look into that.

    3. Use PearPC to emulate a PPC Mac environment. You can install Tiger on it. This isn't easy to do; again, look up tutorials.
     
  15. Ivens macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    #15
    I am using iMac Snow Leopard configuration. Till now, there was (for me) no stricktly need to grade up.
    But now, i need to install some new software witch is only supported by more recent Mac OS.
    The next version i can grade up is Yosemite.
    Installing this implicates the PowerPC-app of my Thecus N2310 NAS will not work any longer on Yosemite.
    The NAS is clearly also my only back-up system.
    Is there any solution or update to fix this?
     
  16. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #16
    Not sure what you are talking about. The installer for the NAS works on Yosemite.
    http://www.thecus.com/product.php?PROD_ID=97
     

Share This Page