Can't open "Install macOS Sierra" GM on my other Mac

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by 212rikanmofo, Sep 8, 2016.

  1. 212rikanmofo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #1
    I'm in the Apple public beta program and was able to redeem my code to download macOS Sierra GM build and sucessfully updated my macbook...

    I tried copying the 4.7GB "Install macOS Sierra" to my other mac, which is still running OS X 10.11 El Capitan, it won't open at all? Any ideas?

    Is the file somehow only tied to my computer that's been running macOS Sierra beta?
     
  2. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #2
    Yes

    Look in your settings program for a "profile" because the betas are loaded through an installed profile.
     
  3. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #3
    What settings? My Mac? What am I suppose to do exactly? Not sure what you mean.
     
  4. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #4
    The "purchase" in the App Store ties to your Apple ID, so you should be able to go to the purchased section of the App Store on the other Mac and download there.
     
  5. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #5
    I can't purchase it, because macOS Sierra GM isn't officially out, so therefore it's not in the App store yet.
     
  6. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #6
    If you have the installer file (assuming you acquired it legitimately), then you already have purchased it from the App Store...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
  8. 212rikanmofo thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #8
    Download is awfully slow now for some reason. I don't know why I can't just use the file I have downloaded on my macbook, it's the exact same file. Pointless that I have to redownload this all over again just because I'm on another mac.
     
  9. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #9
    The MacOS installer apps generally don't require you to be signed in to open them, and it seems like the OP is anyway. Perhaps it simply got corrupted during the copy?

    I download the app on my riMac, copied it over to the rMBP, and it opened fine.
     
  10. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #10
    You can't purchase Sierra yet (at least for a couple of weeks), I'm a developer and all betas use a profile which identify a single computer for OTA downloads and updates. A single profile can be loaded on multiple macs allowing them to be part of the program and then download betas as they become available.

    To use the public beta one has to sign up for the program and each computer will receive a file/profile that identifies it as part of the program.

    Which is probably what a previous writer calls an installer app.

    Please read these links.
    https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/welcome
    https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/faq

    If someone gives you the beta download it will not load. But there are programs which will use the beta load/image to build a bootable USB drive and load it without being part of the program.

    Easiest way, join the program and enroll each computer.
     
  11. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #11
    That's not the case for OS X/mac OS.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 9, 2016 ---
    Again, not correct. You can copy the Sierra installer to any computer, and it will run. I download the developer previews on my primary work computer but do not do the testing on that computer.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 9, 2016 ---
    It's not necessary to redownload if the installer actually works, but perhaps your particular copy is corrupt somehow.
     
  12. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #12
    It is true and I updated to the GM Serria through it.

    I also mentioned that a single profile can be used on multiple computers. This for developers is similar to the installer and allows your computer to automatically update with the newest betas.

    You might go to the links I included that give all the facts for public beta from Apple rather than spending your time attempting to disprove another writer.

    Essentially developers have more stuff available and earlier from Apple, but the thread is about why the author's Serria download won't load. We'll it won't and I think we have both mentioned one needs a profile/installer to identify the computer.
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    No, this is not correct. In addition to being in the developer program, I've registered a personal email with the public beta program. I can download that installer, or the developer installer, from one computer and copy it to any other, and it works perfectly well, even if that computer is not enrolled in any beta program.
    If the OP's installer isn't running, it's either something wrong with his particular computer or his particular installer.
     
  14. bjet767, Sep 9, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016

    bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #14
    Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 11.35.44 AM.png " can download that installer, or the developer installer, from one computer and copy it to any other, and it works perfectly well, even if that computer is not enrolled in any beta program."

    Mission control we have a problem here. The computer is automatically "enrolled" via the profile. I have included a screen shot of the modification it does to the "settings" app. Please notice the "Your computer is set to receive beta software updates..."
    Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 11.18.15 AM.png

    That is how it is "enrolled." All I did was install the profile and then the App Store allows the download. A download sent to a specific coompiuter will not load on another unless one builds a USB drive as I previously stated. If one checks on line there are those who have written such a utility to make the bootable drive orit can be done by using 'termina'l and commmand line do it yourself, which is a whole lot harder.

    Apple wants all of its users to use the App Store.

    Here's a screen shot from the developer download. Clicking on the download first downloads a profile to my computer and then allows the App Store to download the GM.

    Screen Shot 2016-09-09 at 11.35.44 AM.png


    Now let's quit this stuff and move on.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 9, 2016 ---
    The original author of this thread said this:

    And you mentioned this:

    The original is about loading Sierra from the full download not an installer!

    Moving on!!!
     
  15. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #15
    I have no idea what distinction you are trying to make here. I'm referring to the "Install macOS Sierra.app" installer that comes from the App Store and is copied to the Applications folder. If it's not working it's a matter of downloading a new copy and testing that, and if that continues to fail then further work to troubleshoot what might be wrong with the computer.
     
  16. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #16
    Done. Moving on.
     
  17. Gwaredd Thomas macrumors newbie

    Gwaredd Thomas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #17
    Ever since installing OS Sierra I a lot of strange things have been happening to Safari. This biggest problem is every time I close it out it deletes all my plugins. Here's my system's info.

    MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
    Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
    Memory: 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    Graphics: Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB

    As of this point I'm not sure where to go. As far as I know there are no updates for Sierra.
     
  18. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #18
    Yes, there are updates.
    You can download the 10.12.1 updater from Apple.

    I'm not sure that will help you if you already are running 10.12.1
    So, next step would be to just download the Sierra installer from the App Store, and reinstall Sierra.
     
  19. Gwaredd Thomas macrumors newbie

    Gwaredd Thomas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #19
    --- Post Merged, Nov 15, 2016 ---
    Thanks mate! The App Store usually notifies one when there's an update available but not in this case. I'm downloading it now. I hope this solves the problem. If not, I'll...I'll...I don't what I'll do. o_O
     
  20. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #20
    Are you already running 10.12.1?
    In that case, you wouldn't get any notification when you are already up-to-date.
     
  21. Gwaredd Thomas macrumors newbie

    Gwaredd Thomas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #21
    --- Post Merged, Nov 15, 2016 ---
    Got it. Thanks!
     

Share This Page