Can't open quicktime player.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by failmacuser, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. failmacuser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #1
    I can't open quicktime player. I just downloaded the newest free version from the apple site. When I click open it says "could not open because the specified format is not supported" I think that is a problem with what opens it? Everything is set to open with Textedit, I don't remember how or why. How can I get quicktime to open? Please help.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Which OS do you have?
    You can find out by going to :apple: > About This Mac.
    [​IMG]
    it's a screenshot of an older version, so no worries.

    Those are the requirements for the latest QuickTime:

    Leopard System Requirements:
    Mac OS X v10.5

    Tiger System Requirements:
    Mac OS X v10.4.10 or later
    400 MHz G3 processor or faster
    At least 256 MB of RAM


    Also what kind of file are you trying to open? .avi, .mov, .mp4, .mkv, ....?

    To change what document/file type is opened with what application, go to one of those files you want to open with something else than Text Edit, right click on it and choose Get Info (or just use CMD+I if you selected the file).
    There is a pane called "Open With", where you can choose the program and even select "Change All" to apply it to all the files with that specific extension.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    from http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_do_i_change_file_icons_and_the_default_application_on_my_mac.html
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    What are you trying to open that opens with TextEdit?

    The dmg? Installer? A movie?
     
  4. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #4
    Mac OS X
    Version 10.4.11

    Processer: 1.83 GHz Intel Core 2Duo

    Memory: 1.5 GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM (ram upgraded from 512)

    Startup Disk Macintosh HD

    That's what I have. I don't know if it's leopard or tiger?

    And I am trying to open the DMG.

    There is nothing else it will let me open it with. Everything got wiped a while back all I have is Itunes and FireFox, and my personal downloaded things like instant messenger and what not. All my files in the HD are empty.
     
  5. macintoshtoffy macrumors 6502a

    macintoshtoffy

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    If you're upgrading Quicktime - why don't you use the 'Software Update' from the Apple menu?
     
  6. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    There is nothing to upgrade. All my programs are gone im trying to get quicktime player back so I can start getting others that require QT.

    Oh wait it's showing a quicktime update. its downloading now ill see what happens.
     
  7. macintoshtoffy macrumors 6502a

    macintoshtoffy

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7

    How can all your applications 'go'? how are they 'gone'?

    You said you downloaded Quicktime - if you have downloaded quicktime then obviously you've seen the need to update.

    Why have you deleted all your applications? you're better off backing up your user directory and do a re-install if you've butchered your installation up this much.
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    If everything is gone, I'd recommend an Archive and Install rather than trying to reinstall everything.
     
  9. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #9
    Whats an Archive? Im not the brightest when it comes to computer terms.




    BTW do you guys know if there is a way to download imovie free anywhere? It doesn't need to be the newest or best just able to edit small little clips.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    I'm not sure if I follow your thoughts correctly, but are you telling us, that all your "stuff" is gone/has been wiped?
    So there are no applications left in Macintosh HD > Applications or libraries and application support data in Macintosh HD > Library, or all your personal stuff in Macintosh HD > Users > You?

    Why don't you just re-install then, instead of fixing it by searching for every application on the net?

    10.4.x is Tiger and Leopard is 10.5.x.
     
  12. macintoshtoffy macrumors 6502a

    macintoshtoffy

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    You can't download it because it is part of iLife.

    If you have a MacBook it should be part of the restoration media included with it.
     
  13. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    I don't have any of the things that came with the computer to just reinstall it all. I just got this as my first laptop a few years ago and I mainly just wanted it for games and internet, but now I am starting to need other things.
     
  14. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #14
    However you got it, you can obtain the installation DVDs via Apple for around 30 US$ if you prove to them it's your machine.

    But why would you not have your DVDs anymore? I still have mine for my iBook and I'm a big mess all the way up to the roof, when it comes to stuff.
     
  15. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Always keep the restore discs that come with the machine, you never know when you might need them, and if you sell the machine - you'll need to give them to the buyer.
     
  16. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #16
    My aunt got me this laptop 2-3 years ago as a gift, I was young and didn't know i should keep all that type stuff
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    So you just deleted everything else because you didn't use it and didn't know what it did.

    Nice.

    You'll need the disks that came with your model. Go to an Apple Store for those.

    When/if you fix this, just leave everything alone.
     
  18. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #18
    No I didn't delete anything. It crashed maybe a year and a half ago, we took it to the mac store, it was a crazy price to fully restore it or w/e, so we just said "just get it running again" because all i was using it for was games and we didnt want to spend the extra money restoring everything if im not going to use it.

    They said it had a faulty hard drive that fried.
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    I refuse to believe that an Apple Store employee just deleted applications until it "worked" again. You can understand my skepticism.
     
  20. macintoshtoffy macrumors 6502a

    macintoshtoffy

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    Why not run the restoration cd? it comes with the machine - restore the application then run the Software Update and you'll have the lastest version of everything for your system. Its not a difficult task to do.
     
  21. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    Apparently, those ended up in the trash.
     
  22. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #22
    No it was dead crashed, wouldnt turn on even. and they asked if we wanted to pay the 11hundred to have it fully restored, we asked if there was anything cheaper and we got some kind of deal to just replace the hard drive and not restore everything
     
  23. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #23
    There is something you are not telling us, or not remembering right.

    $1100 to restore, but opting for a HD replacement fixes it too? That's not how it works.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Exactly. A hard drive replacement would have been either empty (useless, and they don't do that) or restored with all the software back on. Since then, the applications have been deleted. How?
     
  25. failmacuser thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #25
    I don't know I was like 13 when this happened. All i remember is it was going to cost 11hundred to "fully restore" it and we didn't want to pay that much for a little kids gaming computer so we got some sort of deal or w/e to just get a new blank hard drive put in. When it crashed it was just a bad hard drive it had in it.

    This isnt helping at all btw, yes it's my fault for tossing the disks but i came here asking for help.
     

Share This Page