Cant Partition Boot Camp to XP on lion mac

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Judzmusic, Apr 10, 2012.

1. Judzmusic macrumors newbie

My old macbook with Snow leopard fried itself.. insurance has replaced with brand new macbook with lion.

restored mac with time machine no prob.

trying to restore my winclone backup of my old xp into a bootcamp and VMware..(I must get this xp backup back as it runs an important home business account software, and the taxman is chasing it urgently)

Ive been trying for a week..I've brought the latest winclone version, I've brought the latest VMware version, but the stupid boot camp in Lion will not allow me to create a partition for xp only windows 7???

Do mac actually want me to give more money to windows to buy windows 7??
    I don't want to spend another dollar esp on a rarely used windows program but seems Mac is forcing me to, because I must access these files for tax reasons.

i need help I'm not very experienced with all this so be gentle.

Mac OSX 10.7.3
    Boot Camp 4.0.1
    VMware Fusion 4.1.1
    Winclone 3.2

why can't it be simple.. surely someone has a way around the boot camp windows 7 only option?

2. whiteonline macrumors 6502

whiteonline

You cannot run XP in Boot Camp on Lion.

If you must stick with XP
    - create a new XP virtual machine in your software of choice (VMWare, Parallels, Virtualbox)
    - mount your WinClone image in OS X using WinClone (It's not compatible with Lion, but I believe it should work in Lion since you are not trying to perform a backup)
    - copy over your files from the backup image into your new virtual machine.

3. murphychris macrumors 6502a

It can't be simple because it's not simple. Even Microsoft considers XP a booger that they just can't seem to flick off.