Can't partition MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by .macbookpro., Apr 27, 2013.

  1. .macbookpro. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #1
    So this is the story.(using mountain lion, specs in signature)
    I installed windows 8 through bootcamp, however the drivers for the sound and the display weren't working. So I deleted the windows partition, using disk utility and left it as free space. I know I should have done it through boot camp assistant, but I didn't and I read that if you re-format it as ms-dos bootcamp thinks its a windows partition and you can delete it from there.
    Then the interesting part. I open disk utility, select the 40gb partition which is free space, try to format it as ms-dos, but it gets stuck on preparing to partition disk. I have left it for hours, still hasn't done anything. Then I try to format it as Mac OS journaled, doesn't work, same thing. I reset the PRAM, doesn't work. Now, when I boot up it goes to the windows recovery partition, even though I have the windows partition as free space.
    I don't mind having to format my whole disk, but I can't figure out if it will install a recovery partition, and how I go about doing that.
    Thanks for the future help
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    What the hell is a ms-dos partition.:rolleyes:

    Kidding aside, you should try to resize your partition where OS X resides, that might do the trick.

    BootCamp Assistant is not really needed for installing Windows, it is also not needed to "uninstall, all BootCamp Assistant does is using processes from for instance disk utility to do it's job.
    It's an app for dummies, I installed windows without touching BootCamp Assistant.
     
  3. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #3
    I can only make it smaller, not any bigger
    Untitled.jpg
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    The "minus" symbol under the partition is NOT greyed out, what happens if you click on disk0s4 and hit the delete box?
     
  5. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #5
    I don't know what that partition is. I think its the recovery hd, but i thought it was bigger
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    Sorry, it is only 100+ MB, forgot to look at it, it's likely the EFI partition, you don't seem to have a recovery HD, don't see it in the screenshot.

    I don't see the problem here, you have one part ion, that's what you wanted or do you need a new windows partition.
     
  7. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #7
    the free space at the bottom, I am unable to format
     
  8. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    There is no free space partition, you have two partitions, one EFI and your Macintosh HD with OS X.

    But, if you want to create an extra partition for installing windows onto you need to hit the + button under the Partition settings, that should do the trick.
     
  9. .macbookpro., Apr 27, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013

    .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #9
    there is a box underneath disk0s4.
    It used to be my windows partition, I want to delete it and have 40gb more in macintosh hd
    Untitled.jpg
     
  10. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    There might be a way but it is most likely dangerous for your data so my guess is to completely start over again.

    Your best option is to backup everything and reformat the whole disk, then import everything again.
    Easiest way is to clone the Macintosh HD with Carbon Copy Cloner, partition, then startup from cloned disk and use CCC again to restore the drive.

    Edit: since you don't have a Recovery HD this is all you can do, if you had it could have been done by using Disk Utility from the Recovery HD.
     
  11. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #11
    I do have a recovery hd, I have booted into it many times.
    I think you cannot see it to stop people deleting it
     
  12. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #12
    If that is the case yours should show up in Disk Utility, it clearly shows invisible disks like disk0s4, so it should show up.
    See my screenshot, mine is clearly visible.
    Don't mix up internet recovery and Recovery, they are different.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #13
    Is this the one where you hold down command-r?
     
  14. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #14
    Yes it is!
    You can also see it's 650 MB, that is the normal size for recovery HD.

    Command-R is Recovery
    Command-Option-R is internet Recovery
     
  15. .macbookpro., Apr 27, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2013

    .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #15
    then I do have it. I did this only today, to get into disk utility
    Doing diskutil list, it says its a microsoft recovery.
    There is no mention of a 40gb drive, which is how much free space i have.
     
  16. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #16
    I am really confused now, how can it be that your EFI partition is showing up but not your Recovery HD????
    Both are invisible disks.
    Do you have the debug Menu enabled in Disk Utility, I have and there is an option to show ALL disks, but it still does not make sense.

    But, whatever, if it starts up in recovery there is no debating whether or not you have it, you do.

    If you enable the debug menu in DU you might be able to partition it, if the menu is enabled you can then show all partitions, when you select it on the left you might be able to format that volume.

    Edit:To enable debug menu open terminal and paste this command in it and hit enter.

    defaults write com.apple.DiskUtility DUDebugMenuEnabled 1
     
  17. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #17
    I solved it. For anyone interested, I erased the microsoft recovery partition, using the erase tab, then on the partition tab i minused the disk0s4, then i just had free space left. Then i could drag the macintosh Hd partition and made it take up all of the space
    Thanks for the help!
     
  18. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #18
    Did you erase the EFI partition?
    Isn't that needed by the OS?
    Hope a restart won't get you into trouble.

    Good it is solved though.
     
  19. .macbookpro. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #19
    No. I erased a Microsoft recovery partition and the free space.
     

Share This Page