can't register new Mac with dotmac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bpnkrtn, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. bpnkrtn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    #1
    I have a MBP and Mini as registered computers with my dotmac account. Got an iMac last Friday and have been unable to register it to my dotmac account? I don't remember a two mac limit? Any ideas would be appreciated.

    I open the system preferences and select dotmac and then choose advanced ... usually I get a greyed out option of registering this computer, I select done and then reopen advanced and have the choice to "register this computer." but it does not, I get the spinning circle indicating that it is trying to register ... but it never completes or ends ... ?????
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    There isn't a 2 Mac limit: I've got 4 registered on mine! Could be due to the MobileMe migration...
     
  3. jplan2008 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #3
    What mail program do you use? I'm not sure, but when I got a new computer, I think I just set up my dot mac account in Mail, and then the info was automatically there in System Preferences for dot mac. I don't remember having to "register" the computer.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Not for Mail, for .Mac syncing.
     
  5. jplan2008 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #5
    I know. But I THINK I just set up account in mail, and then when I went to dot mac, the computer was added -- or it showed me as logged in, and I just went to idisk and set up syncing.
     
  6. bpnkrtn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    #6
    I have a dotmac mail account which mail reads and I have mail set to read my exchange work account .... all working just fine. I just followed the dotmac link for syncing from mail preferences ... got me to the same end point with the same results????
     
  7. bpnkrtn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
  8. zbolan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #8
    I also have had no luck registering either of my two macs, even though i've been a dotmac member for more than 6 years. this is not a recent problem initiated by the mobileme changeover. i am looking forward to some one shining some light on this issue.

    cheers
    zac
     
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    Are your Macs already registered with the same name? If they are you'll need to unregister them first.
     
  10. zbolan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #10
    Hi! currently i have no macs registered with dotmac, i've been using it for email only. when i open the "registered macs" pane, it's blank...
     
  11. zbolan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #11
    problem solved

    Hi All,

    I was able to resolve the registration issue by...

    deleting the SyncServices folder in user/Library/application support
    then logging out of dotmac, and back in again...

    cheers
    zac
     

Share This Page