Can't rename new G-Drive Min - Please Advise

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Reg88, May 4, 2013.

  1. Reg88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #1
    Hi,
    I just got a new G-Drive Mini attached via Thunderbolt -> Firewire 800 adapter to a 27" iMac running Mountain Lion. No matter what I do (rename, right-click, finder) I cannot rename the drive. Regardless of what name I choose I get the message "The name [Whatever] cannot be used. Try using a name with fewer characters, or with no punctuation marks."

    What am I missing?

    Thanks!
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Is it formatted as HFS+ drive?

    If so you could get info on the drive (Command-I) and try to rename it there, if the padlock is locked click it first and enter password.
    You could also click the ignore ownership button and see if you can rename it.
     
  3. Reg88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #3
    The G-Drive box says it's Mac-ready. I unlocked the padlock and with ignore ownership checked and unchecked I still get the same error.

    Should I reformat it in Disk Utility?

    Thanks!
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    If there is nothing on the drive yet you could indeed format it and while at it Name the drive.
    Strange you can't rename the drive, what are the permissions on the drive, you can see this in the "get info" window.
     
  5. Reg88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #5
    It says "You have custom access"?

    [MyUsername](Me) Read & Write.
    everyone No Access.
     
  6. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #6
    You have to add the system to it or Admin.
     
  7. Reg88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #7
    What do you mean "add the system to it"?
    Thanks.
     
  8. justperry, May 4, 2013
    Last edited: May 5, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #8
    In the screenshot you can see the difference in between the Macintosh HD which has the original Permissions and my external HD.

    You can't add the System to it with the "Get Info" you need to do this with Terminal for instance.

    Edit: Removed Screenshots
     
  9. Reg88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #9
    Thank you. Can you point me in the direction of these instructions? And why do I need terminal to do this? I will do it but I thought the idea of "Mac" (I'm a lifetime windows user) was to make things "easy"? What would happen to a non-techinal person who doesn't know terminal exsts?
     
  10. justperry, May 5, 2013
    Last edited: May 5, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #10
    A much easier way is to download batchmod.
    It is drag and drop capable, just drag the disk on it and change the things you want to change.

    http://www.lagentesoft.com/batchmod/

    See screenshot below.

    Edit: System is root in OS X
    .
    .
    .
    .
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Reg88 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #11
    Thanks. What I ended up doing was reformatting the drive in disk utility after ejecting it, and then reformatted it. Now it's fine.
     

Share This Page