Can't resize my Leopard partition

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jcafaro10, Jul 15, 2009.

  1. jcafaro10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #1
    I'm in Disk Utility and I can see that the Leopard partition takes up about half of the total disk space. There is nothing else on the disk, the partition just isn't that big. I wanted to expand the partition to fill up the whole disk but I get an error that the partition map is too small or something. How do I fix this without reinstalling Leopard? Do I need to repair my partition map?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You're going to need to reinstall OS X or restore from Time Machine. Picking a smaller partition works as well. There just isn't a large enough contiguous block of space available to split off.
     
  3. jcafaro10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #3
    I'm not sure I understand what you are saying to me. If I have a disk and half of it has my OS X partition and the other half has nothing, why can't I just make it bigger?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Are you trying to merge or split the partition(s)?
     
  5. jcafaro10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #5
    There is only one partition. The rest of the disk space is empty/unallocated/not part of a partition. I just want to extend/expand/make larger an existing partition
     
  6. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #6
    Was there anything in the unallocated space before? Like you made a partition and then deleted it? An erase/reformat and restore from a time machine backup might be your only solution if you can't get the partition to expand to the rest of the disk.

    And you should also have a time machine backup anyways before messing with the partition map or doing anything to your disk. There is always a chance of data loss because of a disk error.
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    ^^^^
    Agreed
    At this point I would suggest you back up your data, erase your disk and start fresh

    If you don't have a backup strategy, this is a good reason to start one ;)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  8. jcafaro10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #8
    Ok ok, time to go into a little more detail. I'm using leopard through vmware and I was hoping it wasn't a vmware issue because I doubt anyone will be able to help. I made my original disk only 16GB in size. Then expanded it to 32GB but the leopard partition was still 16GB in size so I have no idea what the extra 16GB looks like. I also have no time machine backups or anything so I will actually have to try and re-set up the VM which was a huge pain. I think I'm going to just end up making a clone of it and just put different stuff on the clone.
     
  9. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #9
    Yes, that information would have been helpful ;)

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page