Can't resize partitions on external drive

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by appleguy123, Nov 29, 2013.

  1. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #1
    I have a hard drive with 2 partitions on it. I made these partitions in disk utility. One was for time machine, and one was for my normal files that my macbook air couldn't hold. My new router has a NAS option that doesn't support partitions. I want to delete the backup partition and have a single partition.

    To do this, I wanted to delete the backup partition and resize the other partition to the full size of the drive.

    When I try to do this, it says "this partition can't be modified." I can't delete or resize a partition.

    What am I doing wrong? Is there anyway to fix this?
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    In addition check to make sure the partitioning was originally done with the type GUID not MBR. You can check this using the Option button when partitioning. If it is MBR then you cannot resize.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Did you happen to have Time Machine encryption turned on? If so go to the File menu in Disk Util and unlock the partition then try again.

    If that does not work, attached the drive then type "diskutil list" (without the quotes) in Terminal and post up the output.
     
  5. humar macrumors 6502

    humar

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Same situation here. So nothing to do with MBR partitions except format them?:(
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I have read you can use tools like iPartition ($$$) to convert without data loss, but have not tried it myself. That is unlikely to be the issue here though. Unless you intentionally went into Disk Uility options and changed to the format the MBR, it would default to GUID.

    Can you open Disk Util and select your partition and post a screenshot of that?
     
  7. humar macrumors 6502

    humar

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    I partitioned my disk a long time ago (2 or 3 years) so i can't now remember if i changed from GUID to MBR for some reason (maybe to have a NTFS disk.. but I don't remember why..)
    Here's a screen.. and yes.. it's a MBR..
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Yeah... you did put in MBR for some reason and that is the problem. You will need to reformat to GUID if you want to resize and that of course will erase any data on there.
     
  9. humar macrumors 6502

    humar

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    Ok.. Thanks for your help. So i need an HD to backup mine before change to GUID.. that's hard..
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Yep... that's a pain for sure. You could try iPartition to noon-desctructivly change it, but I think a new drive would likely cost less. :(
     
  11. humar macrumors 6502

    humar

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #11
    That's risky. I think I could cry for months if a lost my data..
     

Share This Page