can't restart/shutdown/forcequit

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by macnewbie86, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. macnewbie86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #1
    Hi I installed yosemite a few days ago, and now when I try to shutdown/restart/force quit nothing happens. Also, my volume buttons don't work, my power button doesn't work and my brightness buttons don't work.

    I tried restarting from the command line but that doesn't work either.

    I went to my activity window and it said "loginwindow not responding". I tried force quitting but that doesn't work.

    Any other ideas? Is this a common problem with yosemite?
     
  2. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    No its not common OP. How did you install it ? Clean install or update ?

    What is your system specs, and model ?

    Did you have installed any hardware to your system while installing Yosemite ?

    Have you done a PRAM ? know how to ?

    Have you done a "Repair disk Permission ?
     
  3. macnewbie86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #3
    I did an update, not a clean install.

    My mac is a late 2013 macbook pro. Core i7. 4mb ram.

    I don't know what a PRAM is but I'll google it.

    I have not done a "repair disk permision" but I'll google it.
     
  4. macnewbie86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #4
    I just did a repair disk permission. It repaired the errors. I tried to restart/shutdown from the apple menu but it still doesn't work.

    I googled PRAM, and it said I needed to shutdown and restart in order to reset it, but I can't do that.

    Also I didn't have any hardware installed on my system when I installed yosemite.
     
  5. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    You mean you cannot hold down the power key for a while to let it shut down ? Continue holding down the power button
     
  6. macnewbie86 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #6
    I googled and found control > option > command > power. This worked. Thanks for your help ABC5S. :)
     
  7. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Glad that worked. Didn't know that command myself and learned something new :D
     

Share This Page