Can't Restore 3GS, or Snowbreak, get error "mounting rootfs as read-write error".

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by stuio, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. stuio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #1
    Hi,
    I know this error "mounting rootfs as read-write error" is due to the fact i am unable to shut my phone down before restarting,. its stuck in that loop "Snowflake then spinning wheel" not able to boot up.

    I can get it into DFU mode but i am not able to "Shut the phone down".
    I cant restore the phone until i can shut it down properly, but if i cant turn the thing on, how can i shut it down ?
    As soon as i plug the Cable in it starts to boot again.

    I fixed the Charge Dock as it was faulty (£8 online), as it had ran out of charge. its fully charged but stuck. please help, pulling my hair out :mad:
    Thanks
    Stu
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    You don't need to shut it down in order to restore. Just put it into DFU mode and restore it with ITunes.
     
  3. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #3
    Hi Crystal,
    yea i tried that, several times..
    see the usb cable pic DFU then plug it into USB with itunes and Shift+Restore,
    even tried normal restore but it always fails with errors.

    I originally had the 5.0.9 (334) which i think was beta? and was running redsn0w untethered for weeks, i stupidly updated to 5.0.1(405).

    I have tried restoring on itunes with both those ispw's with no luck.
    I tried deleting the saurik link in hosts file, i have updated windows and use the latest Itunes..
    Apple say the error is from security but my laptop doesnt have security and firewall is off.

    Totally baffled. must be doing something wrong.
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    When you put it in DFU mode and restore with Itunes, what error(s) did Itunes give you?
     
  5. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    When DFU i plug it in and..
    I tried the 5.0.9 beta (334) ISPW and got this error
    "The iphone could not be restored, An unknown error occured (3194).

    Then tried iPhone2,1_5.0.1_9A405_Restore
    "The iphone could not be restored, An unknown error occured (21).

    tried "iPhone2,1_5.0.1_9A404_Restore".
    "The iphone could not be restored, An unknown error occured (3194).

    Tried just using itunes REstore & update (without pressing Shift+Restore)
    "The iphone could not be restored, An unknown error occured (21).

    They all extract but all always fail when "varifying with itunes" the error then pops up.
     
  6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #6
    First, you can restore to OS5 because Apple stops signing this firmware and that the reason you get 3194 error.

    Second, you can't just restore your phone when it in recovery mode (USB & Itunes logo). You must put it into DFU mode, then restore.

    Let try my 2nd suggestion above and see what you get.
     
  7. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #7
    I just put it in a friends PC, installed Itunes and it recognises that it needs to be restored. (must be my PC).
    But..
    I let Itunes download 5.0.1 goes through extraction and installign firmware etc and it takes about 15-20 mins and says its been restored to factory settings,
    I have to choose the new name of the phone and itunes sees the phone etc but after it just hangs on apple & spinning wheel still.

    So to restore it back to factory properly with Itunes, it must be in DFU? and not the cable & itunes picture screen?

    Thanks for helping so far..
     
  8. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #8
    Ok, I tried restoring in DFU mode 3 times, after Itunes said it restored on 5.0.1, it goes to apple logo then spinning wheel of death..

    I tried Ireb as someone suggested it maybe on autoboot False? i tried that and still nothing,,,

    Just about ready to dash the thing out my window.
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #9
    Can you restore it back to 4.1 and see what happen? again, make sure to put it into DFU and restore.
     
  10. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
  11. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #11
    1. download 3GS 4.1 fw on your computer.
    2. Put your phone into DFU mode.
    3. Shift + restore and point it to 4.1.
     
  12. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    Used iPhone2,1_4.1_8B117_Restore
    I got half way through and got Error (1015).
    Will try again.. cheers
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    That is good. Suppose to happen that way because of baseband different.

    Close itunes, open Tiny umbrella, click on your idevice and hit exit recovery. Your phone will boot up normally to activation screen.
     
  14. Greg. macrumors 6502

    Greg.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    The 1015 error is to be expected with 4.1. You then use TinyUmbrella or Recboot to exit recovery.
     
  15. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #15
    yea, did that.. booted back, its on Apple logo and strangely with the spinning wheel at the same time like both together ?..
     
  16. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #16
    Can you do a hard reboot and see what happen?
     
  17. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #17
    Is that hold both power n wake buttons until the apple shows then let go?

    Apple sign just hangs, so far 2-3 minutes

    Now apple sign & spinning wheel on top,. same as before :(
     
  18. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #18
    Ok, on a laptop never used before, installed itunes 10.5, updated windows, rebooted, then put 3GS in DFU, plugged into to USB, itunes says restore & recover i click yes.
    Takes about 10 mins, then says its done,
    Iphone goes to Apple logo, little bar goes across and just goes back to spinning wheel..

    Would it make a difference if my Sim isn't in?
    Can i go into DFU even though the phone has not been properly shut down prior?

    I followed DFU instructions and screen is black. but I cant swipe to power off
     
  19. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #19
    1. Would not make any different whether sim in or out.
    2. Yes, you can get the phone into DFU mode even if it is not properly shut down prior.
     
  20. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #20
    wanna buy a 3GS? LOL
    Totally baffled..

    anyone near Enfield ARea, pay ya to do it.
     
  21. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #21
    Guys, Thanks for all your help!

    I opened up the iPhone as i read about the SEnsor cable error causing similar problems..
    Found it was hanging out, think its cable number 3? the one where you have to pull the little black clip up to pull it out,
    Anyway, i put it back in, put the clip down, closed the case and it booted up!

    Thanks ****** for that..

    Thanks again!

    Stuart
     
  22. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #22
    Just FYI. Cable #3 has nothing to do with it. It is for the ear phone and proximity sensor. With or without it attached, you still can boot up the phone.

    Anyway, glad you brought your phone back to life.
     
  23. stuio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #23
    I had replaced the charge dock myself and it was all working fine prior to the problems.
    Strange but done..
    Thanks again Buddy!

    So pleased, my missus is gonna get it big time LOL
     

Share This Page