Can't restore iMac 2017

Discussion in 'iMac' started by atlatnesiti, Jun 16, 2017.

  1. atlatnesiti
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Just got the new iMac and all is good, but...
    I can't restore or clone it from my ccc or even usb ps sorta.
    anyone help please...
     
  2. keysofanxiety
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Was your backup running the latest version of macOS Sierra (10.12.5)? If not, that'll be why.
     
  3. Synchro3, Jun 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017

    Synchro3
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    Your iMac 2017 has a special build of macOS 10.12.5 (Kaby Lake support). You cannot use a macOS 10.12.5 volume cloned from another Mac.

    Wait until 10.12.6 update is released, or use the apple migration assistant.
     
  4. CarloSiebers, Jun 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017

    CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #4
    Hello can someone help me with the problem below?
    I've disconnected the fusion drive in my new 2017 iMac, but now it's impossible to reinstall Sierra. I've tried an external drive and try to boot with a USB drive, but every time the banned sign is on the screen. I can start via internet in recovery modes and perform tasks but without any result! Is there a special version of Sierra for the 2017 iMac?
    IMG_0216.PNG
     
  5. Synchro3
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
  6. CarloSiebers, Jun 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017

    CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #6
    Thans, i tried recovery over the internet but afterwards not tried to install it via network. I'll try that tomorrow
     
  7. Weaselboy
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Can you explain what you mean here? What exactly have you done and how did you get to this point?
     
  8. CarloSiebers, Jun 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017

    CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #8
    My 2TB HD wil replaced next week with an 2TB SSD and have this explanation http://www.macworld.com/article/2015664/storage-flash/how-to-split-up-a-fusion-drive.html Used to split the Fusion drive.
    (Sorry for my bad English)
    I tried white a External boot disk but it didn't work and tried to instal whit a other MacBook via thunderbolt in targeted modes.
     
  9. Weaselboy
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    So you are going to have Apple replace the only the HDD, and you will be left with the existing 128GB flash drive, plus a 2TB flash drive Apple is going to install??

    I think the issue here is as mentioned earlier, the new iMacs like yours likely use a special build of Sierra that you do not have on your other Macs or your USB key.

    Try holding command-option-r (all three at once) when booting. Pick your wifi then you will see a spinning globe while the recovery utility downloads. Then you will see the recovery utility. From there use Disk Utility to erase the 128GB flash drive to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Then quit Disk Util and click reinstall OS and point it to the 128GB flash drive.

    That will get you up and running with the OS installed to the flash drive and the 2TB hard drive will be just sitting there unused. Then once you swap to the 2TB SSD you can either recreate the Fusion with that drive and the 128GB drive, or just use the 2TB SSD as a separate drive for storage.

    If you decide after you install the new SSD you want one, large Fusion drive, post back here and I can walk you through that.
     
  10. CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #10
    Thanks for the tip, I had already started recovery via command-option-r and that worked, I've also reformatted the disks, but after that I tried to install with a usb drive, but not through the internet recovery (stupid of mine ) Tomorrow I'll try your tip (iMac is in my workplace) I'll let you know if it's successful. I am still in doubt to make a Fusion Drive or use the 128 GB as boot and program disk and the 2 TB as data disk. What would you recommend? The SSD I had from my old mac and an Apple service point enters the SSD into my iMac.
     
  11. MarkC426
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    If it's not a stupid question.
    Why did you buy a mac with the wrong type of HDD?
    If you wanted an SSD, why didn't you order that option, instead of hacking a brand new Apple configured system.
     
  12. CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #12
    I do not see this as hacking but an upgrade for a normal price. I already have a 2TB SSD disk and the additional price of a 2TB disk for apple is far too expensive. The additional price would be € 1,680, -. I discussed this step with apple and advised me to go to an authorized Apple Service Provider to build the disk so that the warranty does not expire.
     
  13. MarkC426
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  14. kretek
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #14
    Apologies for digressing here.

    I have a late 2015 27" iMac with the 2TB+128GB Fusion drive.

    If I replace the spinning HD with an 500 GB SSD, would I be possible to re-create a Fusion drive together with the internal 128GB SSD, given what's mentioned in the Macworld article.
     
  15. nambuccaheadsau
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #15
  16. CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #16
    It works the imac is working again, I feel so stupid not to try it!
    --- Post Merged, Jun 18, 2017 ---
    It works the imac is working again, I feel so stupid not to try it
     
  17. Weaselboy
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17
    Glad you got it working.

    I would just set it up as a Fusion drive once you get the new drive installed. It is just easier to let the OS manage the data so you don't have to fuss around with what goes on each drive I think. The only downside is there theoretically is a higher risk of failure since if either of the two drives dies, the whole Fusion drive is gone. But that's what your Time Machine backup is for.
     
  18. CarloSiebers
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    #18
    I have set up 2 separate drives The 128GB is spacious enough for OS and programs and the 2TB is for home folder and other files.
    Again, thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page