Can't Rip Entourage

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jmor, Sep 3, 2011.

  1. jmor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #1
    I've been ripping my entire movie collection for the past six months and everything has been going pretty smoothly. I've ripped five seasons of entourage and several other tv series up till this point. For the past several weeks I have been trying to no avail to rip Entourage Season 3 Part 1 and Part 2. I cannot get them to rip and I've tried everything I can think of. When I put it into handbrake it just endlessly tries to scan the source but it never does. I tried using RipIt and I got some sort of copy that plays in the DVD App but I don't really know how to work it or RipIt properly as I only use Handbrake. Is there something wrong with my disks, I can watch them fine on my mac I just cannot get them to rip for the life of me. Anyone had similar problems or know how to help? Anything would be appreciated, I can't stand having every other season except season 3 on my computer!
     
  2. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #2
    Get MakeMKV, enable all the titles which are episodes (all titles with the same length of the average episode of Entourage), wait for it to do it's thing, then queue up the MKVs in handbrake.
     
  3. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    Just rip the DVD (don't convert) using RipIt then use the resulting file as the source in Handbrake.

    ----------

    Or this. :D
     
  4. AdrianK, Sep 3, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2011

    AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    Good point, forgot that the .dvdmedia folder created by ripit was just an unencrypted dump of VIDEO_TS.
     
  5. jmor thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #5
    Okay thanks for all the replies but I'm not sure how I remove .dvdmedia file extension
     
  6. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    I've never removed the .dvdmedia file extension and never had problems with Handbrake using it as the source file. Click Open Source in Handbrake, highlight the .dvdmedia file, and select the appropriate title from the drop down in Handbrake.
     
  7. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #7
    Ah, my apologies for complicating the process :(
     
  8. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #8
    Hey, no worries, just trying to make it as straight forward and simple as possible for the OP. :D
     
  9. jmor thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #9
    Ahh okay maybe its just me but I still can't seem to get it to work. What am I doing wrong ?

    [​IMG]

    I select that and it just continually tries to scan the source unsuccessfully
     
  10. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #10
    When I had difficultly using the Open Source option and letting Handbrake scan for titles, I instead would use the Open Source (title specific) option found under the File menu. To know what titles to select for each respective episode, I would open either the DVD itself or the ripped file (.dvdmedia) in the DVD player, select each episode from the menu and once it started playing, go to Go > Title and the title number currently playing will have a check mark next to it.

    Once you have the title numbers, use the Open Source (title specific) and input each respective title number--that way Handbrake goes directly to that title rather than try to scan the entire DVD or .dvdmedia file.

    I'm guessing that since you were successful with a large majority of your collection already that you have VLC installed on your computer. I found the Title Specific method seems to work better when I'm using the DVD directly in Handbrake.

    Another option is to try MakeMKV. I use it now pretty much exclusively as I'm only now buying blu ray disks but it works just great with DVDs as well. It advertises a 30 day evaluation period but, the developer has provided a registration code for everyone as it's still technically a beta (find it under News and Announcements section of the MakeMKV Forums).
     
  11. jmor thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #11
    THANK YOU so much for all your help I got it to work by doing the title specific option, thanks a million as I never would have figured it out if it weren't for your help. :)
     
  12. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #12
    Anytime, glad I could help.
     
  13. WishIWasHere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #13
    Sweeeet! I had the exact same problem with a couple of other shows and this worked like a charm for me also. Part of the beauty of the Mac community, thanks so much.
     

Share This Page