Can't run .app extensions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by JWSandi, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. JWSandi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Trashville, TN.
    #1
    I'm running the most updated version of Snow Leopard on my iMac.

    I've recently purchased some add on planes for x-plane they were delivered in an installer with a .app extension.

    When I double click on them the icon does the usual animation to show it has responded to you clicking on it, but then nothing.

    It will not install or do anything at all, just sits there.

    I've tried restarting.

    I've been working with the vender and they are stumped so they just sent me a zip file of the plane for me to manually install, which I've done.

    But anyway.

    My question to all here is...

    Has anyone ever experiences similar problems, is it some type of setting I might have changed thats prohibiting these from running??

    Do I need to do something special to get them to run?

    When I download stuff that uses the .dmg extension I have no troubles installing them.

    Everything else runs fine

    Email, Safari, Widgets... everything.

    This is the first issue I've had with my iMac or OSX.

    Any help is most welcomed!

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Odds are it's an issue with the way the .app bundle was delivered to you - which caused the executable permission to not be set on the actual executable within the .app bundle. Known "safe" Mac OS X packaging methods include, but are not limited to:
    1. Disk image
    2. ZIP archive
    3. TAR archive, compressed with GZIP, BZIP2, or any other method

    Was the file you received from the vendor in one of these known good formats?
     
  3. q64ceo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #3
    Open up terminal.

    Type in Open

    Drag the .app to the terminal window and press enter.

    If there is an issue or an error, it should show up in the terminal window.
     
  4. JWSandi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Trashville, TN.
    #4


    It was delivered via a zipped filed, which unzipped fine.
     
  5. JWSandi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Trashville, TN.
    #5


    I followed your steps and the message I received was this

     
  6. mrgraff macrumors 6502a

    mrgraff

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    #6
    Be sure to also include a space after 'Open'.
     
  7. JWSandi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Trashville, TN.
    #7
    Okay, did that.

    Now nothing happens, then after a few seconds it just gives me another command line.
     

Share This Page