Can't run my MacAir, what is this ? (pic)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by meshal, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. meshal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    It has been a while since i used my MacBook Air, today i tried to run it but it didn't run, i thought maybe it is out of battery so i connected the charger and tried again (only works when the charger is plugged!!). I was sad to see what it seems to me a serious problem ( i think from the monitor or the hdd ). Anyway i'm mac newbie so i would like you to help me please.

    Update: works without the charger now , but still the same screen !

    Thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

  2. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #3
    Expired
     
  3. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #4
    Looks familiar...

    It could be one of two things: either your GPU is shot, or you need a new screen. Either one is costly to fix, even if you can replace it yourself.

    The way to test is to connect your MBA to an external screen. If the display appears fine, it's the LCD. Still having problems, then it's your GPU, and the motherboard needs replaced.
     
  4. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    I would bet money it's just the cable running from the logic board to the display.

    Could be the display or the GPU, or even an entire logic board.

    Best way to find out if it's the GPU or logic board is to plug into an external display. If it works, it's the native display or the cable.

    When I was messing around with the display, and messed with the cable, it looked just like that.
     
  5. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #6
    He's right, it could be. Scott, if it's the cable, it should flicker / shift when you rotate the screen, correct? If you can repair your MBA yourself, that's the cheap fix- around $35 for a cable.
     
  6. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #7
    Thank you all for your replies.

    I tried to connect it to a screen but the screen didn't detect a signal.

    However, Shrakner , you are right! It does shift a little bet at some angles

    Does this mean it's the cable ? what is the name of it and where can i find how to replace it ?

    Thanks,
     
  7. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #8
    Hmm... your observations are a bit confusing. The display image shifting when the screen is rotated indicates either a bad cable or a problem with the LCD itself. But if an external display doesn't work, that would indicate a motherboard problem, and having both problems at the same time is highly unlikely.

    Have you successfully used the MBA with this external display before? (and are any other MBA owners aware of any special issues with connecting the Air to an external screen?)

    Also, what model Macbook Air do you have? If you're unsure, use this link: http://www.ifixit.com/Info/ID-your-Mac/636
     
  8. Scottyk9 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    To isolate, try using the MBA in clamshell mode while attached to an external monitor (external mouse / keyboard) - the MBA will use the external display as the primary display in this scenario and help sort out if this is a setting problem vs. display output problem.
     
  9. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #10
    Update:

    I was able to detect a signal from my MBA though an external screen.

    So is believe it's either the screen or the cable. right ?
     
  10. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #11
    detect a signal, as an image on the external screen?

    and if thats the case, then yes its the screen or the cable
     
  11. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #12
    I hope it's the cable :(
     
  12. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #13
    Did the external screen display your normal screen, without any graphical glitches?

    And what model MBA do you have exactly?
     
  13. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #14
    I would bet money it's the cable. That is not normal for a display, and my MBA looked the exact same when I had a cable "issue."

    Good luck!
     
  14. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #15
    The external screen displayed my normal screen with no problems.

    The model is : A1237

    Thanks,
     
  15. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #16
    That is comforting! Thanks
     
  16. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #17
    I'd also guess it's the display cable- which is the cheapest of the three options. :)

    Unfortunately, it seems that iFixit doesn't supply the part or installation instructions. They have a good guide http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Repair/Installing-MacBook-Air-Display-Assembly/855/1 that goes as far as removing the display, but you also need to open the display housing in order to get to the cable. iFixit did disassemble the screen in their initial teardown (http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-Teardown/598/3) and it seems that you basically have to pry the front bezel of the housing off- not a fun deal, but doable. I recommend a really fine screwdriver for the initial wedging, and a credit card or spudger to use as much as possible to avoid scratching/damaging components.

    And finally, the cable itself. There's several on eBay from reliable sellers- this one's even a new one for about $90: http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-OEM-Apple-Macbook-Air-LCD-LED-LVDS-Cable-/260648441539. You can get a cheaper cable if you go for a working used one, but that's your call.

    Have you worked on a laptop before? Laptops can be quite tricky, especially Apple laptops, though the unibody models do seem to be easier to work with than older ones.
     
  17. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
  18. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #19
    Sharkner , ur replies were very helpful .. thank you so much
     
  19. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #20
    MrCheeto has no contact information.
     
  20. shrakner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    #22
    Meshal, glad to help! Went through a similar thing with my old Powerbook, twice (LCD delaminated due to... gravitational impacts :p... and a few years later, GPU died)- it's not a fun thing when your Mac's screen is going crazy...

    Hmm, not bad! does look a hell of a lot easier than my experience with a 15" aluminum Powerbook and a 15" non-unibody MBP...

    And I found that cheap replacement screen on Buy.com (link)... almost the same price as just the cable! :eek: But it doesn't look like it comes with the cable...
     
  21. meshal thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #23
    MrCheeto, Thank you for the link.

    Sharkner, Thank you.

    I'll update the thread when I have it fixed.
     

Share This Page