Can't see Airport Express

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Tech198, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #1
    In 6.0.1, i am unable to see my Airport Express's SSID, therefore cannot enter WPA 2 password to connect via iPhone 4s.

    It does't show up in the WiFi section in IOS, while the SSID appears and connects fine on iPad and mac.

    Anyone else experiencing this?

    Tried "Erase all content & settings", "Network", and Restored latest via iTunes, to no avail. :apple:

    There is a "Other" setting in IOS, and i guess this could work, but if SSID is broadcasting, shouldn't it show in the list?
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    Is this the dual-band 2nd generation Express? If not, do you know if its broadcasting at 2.4 or 5.0 Ghz? The iPhone 4S will only work with 802.11n 2.4 GHz. If you have a n network and it is 5.0, your Mac and the iPad 3 will work but the iPhone will not. Try changing your network to 2.4 GHz within AirPort Utility and see if it is now accessible.
     
  3. Tech198, Nov 10, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2012

    Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    Its 1st gen.

    But Airport Express was only using 5 Ghz... Changed it to 2.4, and now iPhone 4s can see it and connects.

    Design issue maybe since iPhone 5 doesn't have this "limitation" going by Tech Specs at apple.

    Just wondering, if Apple could of done it.


    So basically if your Airport express is 2.4/5Ghz 802.11n and all your Mac laptops/desktops connect, and you have an Iphone 4s in the house, that also wants to connect to the same network, Apple's *forcing* you to use 2.4 Ghz range ? They are introducing interference, not solving it. (unless you upgrade to iphone 5 that is) .
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    This is more a limitation of your old router (Express) than an issue with the connecting devices. Your old AE cannot do "simultaneous" dual band and newer versions can. Get a newer version to you can run dual band and devices that support 5Ghz can take advantage of it while older 2.4 devices can still connect. You can get a refurb current AE for $85.
     

Share This Page