Can't see each other in Battlefield 1942 (Leopard)

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Brendon Bauer, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. Brendon Bauer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #1
    I have Battlefield 1942 installed on a brand new iMac as well as a SR MBP, both which are running Leopard. We are on a local network and cannot see each other in Multiplayer -> Local in BF1942. I tried connecting the computers directly via ethernet and that didn't do the trick. I tried allowing permission for the firewall in System Preferences, and that didn't work. I tried updating both games to 1.6.1d, but that also did not work. Am I missing something? For the life of me I cannot get these two computers to see each other, so we can't play...

    Help please :)
     
  2. Church macrumors regular

    Church

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #2
    I assume that you are using the same cd key on both computers so make sure that "check cd key" is turned off when you start the server. Also make sure you turn off invisible mode on your firewall if you have it turned on.
     
  3. Brendon Bauer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #3
    Thanks for getting back to me. Still no luck. I cannot even find the option to not check for cd key, which shouldn't matter on a LAN connection, should it? Also, both of our firewalls have "allow incoming... bla bla bla" for Battlefield 1942, Road to Rome, Dedicated Server, and Dedicated Server Setup (just for the heck of it). We're also both set to not be in "Stealth Mode" or whatever it's called under System Preferences -> Firewall -> Advanced. I've tried setting up a dedicated server as well as creating a game in game. I've also tried creating an internet game which doesn't show up among the many games available on the internet (which both computers can see).

    Is Leopard a no-go? That seems rather silly to me. I've played BF1942 with friends on PCs/Macs for the past 3 or 4 years (on Tiger). I'd hate to revert to playing the windows version via bootcamp... I'd much rather get the game working in Mac OS X Leopard.
     
  4. Church macrumors regular

    Church

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Sorry about the cd key thing, I got confused with another game. Either way, it worked for me and my brother on my new alu iMac. You might want to try to drop the firewall completely on the host computer.
     
  5. Brendon Bauer thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #5
    Well, I couldn't get things working. Out of frustration I just installed the windows version via bootcamp which worked fine. I suppose I'll try again some other time. Thanks for your time!
     

Share This Page