Can't seem to grasp Objective-C

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Awesomeness, Jul 30, 2010.

1. Awesomeness macrumors member

The tutorial I used worked for me; I created an identical application from it, but I have gained nothing. The syntax is almost completely different from Java. I've been using Java for three years and Python the three before that, so I thought I could learn Objective-C. I can't seem to get a grasp on the stupid format of methods with the brackets and stuff. (Example would be '[slider setIntValue:numberToSetTo];') Random keywords have @s before them while others don't, and header files just confuse me. I don't get sent and received actions, outlets, or any of the connecting with the NIB stuff.

It's just all so foreign to me... I've never had problems this bad learning any other programming languages... Is there anything like a book or tutorial that could explain all this to me?

2. CMT macrumors member

CMT

The first thing is to stop thinking it's stupid.

Yes, it may be foreign but that's your point of view.
    For me, your language is foreign.

developer.apple.com/mac/library is the best library to find everything you need.

3. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

You definitely need to adjust your attitude. I wouldn't want to learn something I thought was stupid. If you want to learn it, come in excited. If you've used 2 languages, be excited to broaden your horizons. Message passing is different, that's good news.

If you know C syntax, Objective-C is not hard to follow at all. The only things with @ keywords are for class declaration and exception handling (there are NSString literals, but that's different). Otherwise, fast enumeration and blocks are the only things syntactically different from C. That doesn't help much if you don't know C, but even so things are pretty consistent, and Java's basic flow control syntax, variable declaration, assignment, etc. are all just like C.