Can't set new language

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hardloff, May 24, 2015.

  1. hardloff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #1
    I used to have Norwegian as my preferred language on my Mac. But after I deleted unnecessary languages to free some space, it automatically set the language to English, and now I can't seem to reset the language to Norwegian.

    I've already set Norwegian as my primary language, but it still won't adjust. How do I fix this?
     
  2. hardloff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #2
    So I just found out that only some of the applications changed language, but not all. Also Finder is partially in English and partially in Norwegian... What?
     
  3. m4v3r1ck, May 24, 2015
    Last edited: May 24, 2015

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    Can't set new language

    How much space did you free up deleting the languages?
     
  4. hardloff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Not much, tbh. I just read somwhere that if you wanted to clear some space that you could do that. But it didn't help much.
     
  5. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Can't set new language

    So you only kept the Norwegian and English then? Could you share a link to that article? I'm curious about the benefits doing so.

    Cheers
     
  6. hardloff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    What is the size of your OS disk? Is it so small that you needed to free up space?

    Did you make a backup before using the mono-tinker-tool? Or did you use some other Mac 'cleaner'?

    If so its best AFAIK to restore from your backup and leave the language files alone.

    Don't tinker with OSX unless you have all the knowledge to do it in a safe way. And always backup first!

    Cheers
     

Share This Page