can't slide CPU/RAM tray back in

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ithinkitsnice, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. ithinkitsnice macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #1
    I've just removed the tray, seated some new RAM (definitely in correctly) and tried to slide the tray back in... and it won't go

    I've looked at videos on youtube and it seems the tray should slide into the sockets at the back easily, whereas I can slide it until it meets the sockets at the back and I'm met with so much resistance I don't want to push any harder. It's as if it's just not aligned with the socket at the back. There seems to be a little play in the tray, maybe 0.5mm any way, and I've tried carefully shifting it a little in every direction to slot it in but I'm having no joy.

    Any advice or should I panic?
     
  2. ithinkitsnice thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #2
    lol, never mind, it went in on the 100th attempt right after I posted.

    Is it usually that much of a struggle?
     
  3. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I can say that mine is absolutely the same way. I watched the OWC video, and decided that they must have had 100+ takes of the tray going in until it went in smoothly. It drove me nuts when I installed my RAM.
     
  4. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I've not had any issues with the tray - perfect alignment and no hassle on two different 2009 MPs.
     
  5. macguru2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Difficulty with 2010 Mac Pro

    Not sure about the Mac Pro 2009, but I definitely have had a super hard time reseating my processor tray every time with my 2010 Mac Pro. The last time, right after cleaning out the entire computer and removing all dust, I just could not get it back in. Eventually I tried a new approach and turned the computer on its side, so that instead of pushing the tray in horizontally from the side, I was slowly sliding it down vertically from above. It seemed that whatever alignment problems that existed where much easier to deal with and I had my tray reseated within just a few tries. It's kind of a shame that this is a problem with a computer that costs so much, but so it is...
     
  6. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    On my last cleaning a week ago, it went in perfectly the very first try. I was shocked, hahaha!
     
  7. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    #7
    I had a bit of trouble too. I think you can only push it in so far, then you you use the two tabs on the bottom to push it the rest of the way in.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Are you guys trying to insert the tray when the Mac Pro is upright or lying on its side? Because when I work on my Mac Pro it's always laying on its side and I never have any issues removing and inserting my processor tray.

    In fact, I just checked the repair manual for the Mac Pro and you are suppose to lay it on its side before beginning work on the machine.
     
  9. englishman macrumors 6502a

    englishman

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #9
    Always works first time for me. Let the latches do the last bit of work.

    I think its difficult to break anything - its not like opening one of the old minis ;)
     

Share This Page