can't sync computer (10.4.11) with .mac

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by simplegray, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. simplegray macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #1
    Hey I'm having trouble syncing my computer with .mac. I go to System Preferences, login to .MAC but I cannot click the "SYNC" button. It isn't grayed out, but when I click on it -- the check mark appears and goes away almost instantly.

    What's that about?

    I have mobileme set up on my iPhone ready to go. Please help me sync my computer with mobile me.
     
  2. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Do you have the new software?
    In system preferences --> .Mac --> sign out and back in and software update should come up.
     
  3. simplegray thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #3
    yeah. 10.4.11 for tiger.

    On TIGER it still say .mac

    (I know on Leapord it's now MobileMe)


    When I try to login to .mac with system prefs I get a ".mac login failed."
     
  4. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    It says .Mac until you download the new software. Hmm.. silly question- but you are sure you have the right name/password? If it still says .mac login failed then I am not sure. Sorry!
     
  5. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    For me I think before I signed back in it offered me an update.
     
  6. TheGodfather macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Mechelen, Belgium
    #6
    I have the exact same issue on my MacBook (10.4.11), on my Air (10.5.4) no issues.

    When I click on the "Sync" tab in the .Mac preference panel it says "Getting .Mac Info". This times out after about a minute, then I get the error "There was a problem with the sync operation. .Mac login failed."
     
  7. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    Ah, maybe it is something specific with Tiger?
     
  8. simplegray thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #8
    it says that 10.4 users don't get an update that changes the system pref window from .mac to mobileme.

    another kind of peculiar thing -- when i enter my password for .mac, it makes the password way longer... really weird. do you know what i mean? i put it my 6 digit pass, hit enter, and now it's like 20 characters long.

    it doesn't give me an immediate "wrong pass" or "invalid account" so could that have somethign t odo with it?
     
  9. cuanurse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    That shouldn't that is just a safety thing so that after the password is entered someone can't see how long it is.
     
  10. simplegray thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #10
    I switched to a different user on my mac (one i never touch or use) and it worked -- meaning it synced.

    came back over to my main account, still times out.

    what gives?
     
  11. grs macrumors member

    grs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    #11
    How to sync

    Hi. I registered just to answer this question. I've been having the same problem since Friday. The answer actually was given in an earlier thread in this forum. I tried it and it works.

    1. go to the Finder and do a search for "dotmac"
    2. delete any resulting files that end with "plist"
    3. restart

    You can then go to the system preferences panel and sync.

    This worked for both my Powerbook G4 and my 24" Aluminum iMac, both of which are running 10.4.11.
     
  12. simplegray thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
  13. TheGodfather macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Mechelen, Belgium
  14. grs macrumors member

    grs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    #14
    Happy to help. :D

    Now, if anybody knows how to get charter.net e-mail to work with my iPhone . . . ?
     
  15. TheGodfather macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Mechelen, Belgium
    #15
    You'll have to set that up as a pop3 account, or have it forwarded to your MobileMe email.
     
  16. Poff macrumors 65816

    Poff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Stavanger, Norway
  17. thepinkladykate macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #18
    Somehow it won't let me delete those files. Is it normal for one to be from today?
     
  18. grs macrumors member

    grs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    #19
    I'm not a programmer, but from my layman's understanding, it is perfectly normal for a .plist file to be from today. One of the uses of .plist files is to store preference settings. If a preference was recently changed, the .plist file will indicate that it was modified at the time of the change.

    I'm not sure why your computer will not let you delete the files. Bear in mind that when you do a finder search, the window that comes up simply shows you where the files are located. If you select a .plist file by clicking on it once, you will see, at the bottom of the window, the file's location, something like "grs>Library>Preferences>ByHost>lengthyfilename.plist." Now control click and choose "move to trash." The file won't disappear, but its location will be changed as indicated by the information at the bottom of the screen.

    Try that and see what happens.

    grs
     
  19. fubar1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #20
    Sync problem 10.4.11 - Thanks, GRS!

    I tried the fix and it worked as well. This after I've spent hours online with Chat Support and in the Apple store. No one at Apple seems to know this fix - or at least the people I've come in contact with. So glad this is fixed. Thanks again!
     
  20. thebeesknees macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #21
    Thank you SO MUCH! This finally got MobileMe working for me! There really should be more people like you on the internet.
     
  21. rockstarguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #22
    I tried deleting those files, and it still doesn't work.

    I just upgraded to a family account today. I'm trying to set it up to sync with my Mac. When I try and log in, it says ".Mac login failed". I know the password and the username are correct, and it even says the password is valid.

    Any clue on how to fix this? Thanks!
     
  22. grs macrumors member

    grs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    #23
    Sorry, Rockstarguy, deleting the .plist files was my only trick. Since the symptoms you describe are exactly the symptoms I was having, I would think the fix would work. Could you provide some more detail about what steps you took to delete the files?

    grs
     
  23. rockstarguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #24
    Well I search for the dotmac files, then drag em into the trash, then delete. Then I restart my computer, but I still get the login error. Idk what to do.
     
  24. rockstarguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #25
    Can anyone pleas help me with this...?

    This is what I do...

    1. Open up system preferences
    2. Select .Mac
    3. Enter username
    4. Enter password
    5. Click on "Sync"... It then validates the password and username and says "Password valid"
    6. On the sync screen, the wheel turns, but then this error comes up: "There was a problem with the sync operation. .Mac login failed"

    I dunno what to do. I can sync everything from my iPhone to MobileMe, just not my MacBook. I've tried deleting the dotmac files and then restarting with no luck.
    Please help!
     

Share This Page