Can't Upgrade to Leopard from Tiger

Discussion in 'macOS' started by larrabee, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. larrabee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #1
    OSX 10.4.11
    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
    Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz

    I insert Leopard Disk 10.5.6, click on the Install Button, get the "restart" screen, hit restart. Machine reboots but does not make it by the grey screen/apple logo.

    I've zapped pram, fixed permissions, run disk warrior, disk utiilities> verify disk.

    I've tried installing the newest version of APE.

    Nothing changes.. same thing... grey screen.

    HALP!
     
  2. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #2
    Holding down "c" when you boot?

    Also, no offence, but is this a legit copy of Leopard?
     
  3. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #3
    Legit copy.

    Do I need to hold down "C"? The limited instruction that comes with the DVD does not mention that I need to.

    Hmmph.. It's worth a shot.
     
  4. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Try holding down Option when your machine is starting up. That allows you to select the boot drive. Obviously you'd choose the Leopard install DVD if it shows up.
     
  6. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    any hypothesis on why this may be happening?

    defective disc?
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  8. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  9. Kwill macrumors 68000

    Kwill

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    #10
    With few exceptions, most Mac OS upgrade discs only work with matched hardware (e.g. a "legit" iMac upgrade disc won't work for a Mac Pro).
     
  10. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #11
    Processor 065-6352 2.66 GHz Quad Xeon
    Memory 065-6358 2GB 667 DDR2 FB DIMM ECC-4x512
    Graphics Card 065-6454 4xNVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB

    Bought the OS from Apple.com
    MAC OS X 10.5.6 LEOPARD RETAIL-INT MC094Z/A
     
  11. durija macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
  12. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Does the disc even mount while booted into Tiger? i.e. does it show on the desktop and you can open the "Install Mac OS X" app?
     
  13. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14
    I put the disk in it opens up (does take a bit of time though) and i get the Install OS X app (and couple of other folders) then I click the install app, up pops the restart screen. I click restart and then it starts to reboot as expected. then i get the grey screen which hangs there for hours.
     
  14. durija macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Put the DVD in the drive. Ignore it. Don't eject it. Shut down the Mac. If you have the DVD in the drive already and hold down the C key (continously) while starting the machine, it should boot into the installer. If that is not happening, there is a real problem somewhere. Not sure what it would be, but that is how it should work.
     
  15. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #16
    Remove ALL peripherals besides a mouse, keyboard, and monitor. FW devices are especially prone to causing problems. If it still won't boot, remove all internal upgrades you might have installed like RAM, PCIe cards, etc.
     
  16. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #17
    so i've unplugged everything but my USB mouse and keyboard and the monitor.

    i've tried everything you've suggested. reboot holding C, reboot holding option.

    Same results.

    fu:apple:k :(
     
  17. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #18
    Call Apple, explain the disc won't boot, they'll say the same things we've said, explain you've done it all, should sort you out with a new copy in no time.
     
  18. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #19
    Have you tried seeing if the Mac will boot from the Tiger install disks that came with it?
     
  19. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  20. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #21
    i can boot from the Tiger disk.

    i also tried the Leopard disk on a different machine and it works (it gets to the pick a language point, i didn't go any further)

    so i think i will likely back everything up to the external HD i just ordered, re-install tigre and see if i can get leopard to install over the freshly installed tigre. does that sound like a horrible idea to any of you?

    also i just realized that i still have apple care (until November) is it worth getting them involved? i typically find support to be more work than they're worth.

    anybody have any experience with apple care? where it's a software issue (i suspect) i don't think they are just gonna send me a mac.
     
  21. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #22
    Faulty optical drive? That's the only thing I can come up with after reading this thread.
     
  22. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #23

    i ran techtool deluxe... no errors on anything.
     
  23. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #24
    You installed all firmware updates as suggested above?
     
  24. larrabee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #25
    i downloaded the version for my Boot ROM version and it tells me that this computer does not need this update. So I assume it is up to date.
     

Share This Page