Can't upload an avatar

Stridder44

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 24, 2003
3,971
138
California
I know you need a minimum of 500 posts to have an avatar, and I reached this goal about 2 days ago and it isn't showing up for some reason.


(Sorry if this is the wrong place to ask this)
 

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
15,588
1
Hm. Have you tried logging out and back in?

Are you sure file isn't too large?
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
You're listed as an avatar user, so all looks good in this end. Make sure the size and format are OK.
 

grapes911

Moderator emeritus
Jul 28, 2003
6,995
3
Citizens Bank Park
jsw, when I first got my 'tar I couldn't upload it. A mod or god uploaded a random one for me and then I was able to change it on my own. Not sure how they did it (or who did it, it was a long time ago), but wasn't able to do it on my own.
 

Doctor Q

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 19, 2002
37,549
3,624
Los Angeles
If you post here and attach the avatar you plan to use, we can check its format and size for you.

<off-topic>
Hey, is that Spike in your profile picture?
</off-topic>
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
I followed grapes911's suggestion and "cleared the pipes" as it were. Please let me know if you can set one now. And sorry for the 'tar - I have few small images handy on this computer and picked one of the iChat ones.
 

dmw007

macrumors G4
May 26, 2005
10,635
0
Working for MI-6
Glad to see that everything is working for you now Stridder44. :)

Nice 'tar btw. :) ***EDIT*** Ah, the cute little puppy dog 'tar is gone :(
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
Just to be clear: that's not Stridder44's choice of avatar. It's one I uploaded to see if it would work for him.

Edit: never mind!
 

Stridder44

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 24, 2003
3,971
138
California
grapes911 said:
jsw, when I first got my 'tar I couldn't upload it. A mod or god uploaded a random one for me and then I was able to change it on my own. Not sure how they did it (or who did it, it was a long time ago), but wasn't able to do it on my own.

Ya, well it looks like the same exact thing just happened with me. It's working fine now tho. Thanks again jsw and anyone else who I missed
 

Stridder44

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 24, 2003
3,971
138
California
dmw007 said:
Nice 'tar btw. :) ***EDIT*** Ah, the cute little puppy dog 'tar is gone :(

lol? OH! Just one more thing, I tried using a .gif but it said you can't use animated avatars? But that obviously can't be true....unless Im missing something?
 

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
22,910
41
Andover, MA
Stridder44 said:
lol? OH! Just one more thing, I tried using a .gif but it said you can't use animated avatars? But that obviously can't be true....unless Im missing something?
Try attaching the gif to a post here.

Oh,and BTW, the original 'tar I uploaded was a puppy, then the Japanese "Harmony" one...
 

Doctor Q

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 19, 2002
37,549
3,624
Los Angeles
Stridder44 said:
I tried using a .gif but it said you can't use animated avatars? But that obviously can't be true....unless Im missing something?
Were you on the Edit Avatar screen in your User Control Panel or reading something in an FAQ or Guide page or thread? What message did you see that implied that animated avatars don't work?
 

dmw007

macrumors G4
May 26, 2005
10,635
0
Working for MI-6
jsw said:
Oh,and BTW, the original 'tar I uploaded was a puppy, then the Japanese "Harmony" one...
I noticed, I thought I was losing my mind when Stridder44's avatar kept changing every time I refreshed the page! :eek: ;) :D