Can't use Iphone for music until AT$T activation?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by fourthtunz, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. fourthtunz macrumors 6502a

    fourthtunz

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    I can't use iphone for anything until I activate it with AT&T?
    That is until I commit to phone service?
    I can't use it for anything until then?
    I ask, mine should be here today and would like to use it for music and get my contacts on it,thanks!
     
  2. VoodooDaddy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #2
    iNdependence, if you are a mac user.

    Try google with these words: code google independence
     
  3. fourthtunz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fourthtunz

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    Thanks I read about this, but I haven't checked the latest incarnation to see if it's user friendly.
    I should have asked if there is anyway to just use the iphone out of the box without hacks or activation, looks like you can use it as a music player though?
    Daniel
     
  4. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    If a music player is all you want, why not just get an iPod touch?
     
  5. sJv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    #5
    You can't do anything on the iPhone, including listen to music, until it is activated. You have two activation choices: AT&T, or hack it with one of the activation programs.

    -steve
     
  6. VoodooDaddy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    #6
    I personally didnt/dont want to hack/mod my phone, but I really had no alternative but to use this app. I had a 4gb on a gophone plan and when I got the 8gb I was unable to activate through iTunes. I was told by ATT I would have to sign up for a new plan with a new number as you cant transfer accounts from one to another with a gophone plan. So I used independence.

    The newest version of iNdependence is a no brainer. You have to download the backup files of whatever firmware version of the iphone you have first. Then plug in, press 1 button, browse to the folder you downloaded, done. You just press activate and everything is done for you.

    But as stated by someone above me, until you activate you cant do jack with the iphone.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. freediverdude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #7
    I thought cell providers were absolutely legally required to port numbers now? The go phone excuse doesn't seem valid to me. Somebody should threaten to sue over that one, ATT would lose.
     
  8. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #8
    Welcome to America! Why does EVERYONE want to sue someone! So stupid.

    No, there is no legal requirement for them to port a number, but they can not deny your request unless they have due cause. Such as the number being an ATT employee number, etc....

    Per agreement, the GoPhone plans are tied to the number, phone, etc... Ya, its is stupid, but its the way it is. And yes, it makes no sense.

    Now I am going to go sue Wendy's because I only get ONE slice of cheese on my DOUBLE cheeseburger! What's up with that. I think I will win!
     
  9. fourthtunz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    fourthtunz

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #9
    I should have been more clear. Sadly I am a part of our "I want it now" society:D
    I want and need and Iphone, just waiting to get it activated before you can use it for anything is hard to do. I've had mine for 5 days and finally got att activation but I'm porting a number so the phone part of it is still mucked up.
    I don't know about suing anyone about anything just be nice to use the other features while you are waiting to get activated.:eek:
     

Share This Page