Can't use start up commands - Need help of some experts

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Daaaaaniel, May 2, 2010.

  1. Daaaaaniel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #1
    Trying to reset the pram in order to fix a firewire-port-issue bot do not succeed. Press cmd-alt-p-r before the grey screen comes up and continues to press these keyes but nothing is happening.

    Have also treid some other start up commands but nothing happens.

    Have tried both a full alu keyboard and a alu-keyboard without the num pad - makes no difference.

    Also have maked sure that the firmwar-password is dissabled.

    Have a mac mini 1,83ghz 2gb ram with 10.5.8 running.

    Really need your help!
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    But your Mac still works fine, except the Firewire port?
     
  3. Daaaaaniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #3
    Have been reading some threads here but no-one has provided me with a solution =/
     
  4. Daaaaaniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #4
    Correct. I plug in a external firewire-soundcard. The lights flashes indicating that it's powered but it dosn't respond to and cant be found by the mac mini. Tried the soundcard on my other mac and it works just fine. The problem ariesed when i sitch firewire cable. Google around and found that the firewire port can fail if you're experiencing bad luck but sometimes it can solved by reseting pram.

    The problem is that i canät reset pram, or get any other start up commands to work.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Have you got your gray restore DVDs or another working Mac OS X installation DVD? If so, try the Apple Hardware Test.
     
  6. Daaaaaniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #6
    Plugged in the 10.5.4 Disc 1 and tried just as the article told me to but apple hardware test wont start. Not to my supprise since start up commands dosnt work.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    I presume there is no warranty left on this machine?

    Btw, does Target Disk Mode still work?
     
  8. Daaaaaniel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #8
    warrenty expired ages ago.

    Can't access target disk mode.

    Any other suggestion?
     
  9. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #9
    What keyboard you are using? Wireless maybe? If yes, try wired one.
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    Already happened.

     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  12. forcefieldkid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #12
    This happened to me when a hard drive died on me, sadly. Could of been unrelated, don't want to fill you with fear! Might be worth taking to a tech and finding out though.
     

Share This Page