can't watch rental. hdcp error. What gives?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by LucasLand, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. LucasLand macrumors 6502a

    LucasLand

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Location:
    New England
    #1
    My Apple TV has been working great on my infocus sp5000 projector, until I tried to watch a rental. It says I can't can't watch content because of hdcp! this sucks. I can't use component either because i can't get picture on it. it is a reddish color.

    I didn't even know what hdcp was until this happened. Apple should be advertising this.

    I don't know how to fix this or if i should keep this thing now.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. LucasLand thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LucasLand

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    I have now plugged apple tv with projector via what i believe to be a component cable (green blue & red). The picture is very dark and heavy in red color. I can barely make out apple tv picture. I noticed in apple tv resolution selection it stays on 480i. If I change to any resolution the projector won't show anything. The projector source info states it is in ntsc mode using composite.


    Any chance this is wrong cable or something else?
     
  3. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #3
    are you sure you have the colored cables plugged in correctly. It's easy to mix up the blue and green ones and get a screwed up picture like you describe. Yeah this HDMI/HDCP thing is a crock for non-HDCP compliant stuff.
     
  4. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #4
    You need to turn off the SP5000 and when the fan stops, unplug the ac to the projector for 10-15 seconds, plug it back in, start your projector and you will get the handshake. If you go to "about" on the ATV menu you will see HDMI status there. Its not an Apple issue, its a HDMI issue. But it will work if you follow the above. Also make sure you have the latest firmware from InFocus.
     
  5. LucasLand thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LucasLand

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Got it to work!!

    I unplugged the power to projector twice and it still said "hdcp off". I then unplugged the appletv cord from back of unit and it fixed the problem!

    I'm now watching an hd rental of michael clayton.

    Thank god!

    Hopefully it will stay this way .

    Thanks for help
     
  6. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #6
    Unfortunately it will not. Remember the tricks, you will need them every time you try to watch a rental. But it does work. By the way, sometimes I just unplug the HDMI cable like you did and sometimes the ac power. You may have to vary your technique. Good luck!
     

Share This Page