Capacity of MBA

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by 425, Nov 14, 2010.

1. 425 macrumors member

I am a high school student in search of my first computer of my own. I use both Windows and Mac at my mom's and dad's houses, but I would like my notebook to be a Mac (or else I wouldn't be here).

This computer needs to be the lowest price, so I'm look at the $999 MacBooks.

I am attracted to the MacBook Air 11-inch because of its size, and of the fact that I won't be disappointed by a new model coming out soon.

My only issue is this: I tend to tax computers heavily. My dad's poor Windows XP machine will probably never be the same.

I make machinima, which is movies where the animation is done using video games. For the past 5 months, I have been using my dad's XP machine and Video Capturing into Windows Movie Maker, which is not much, but gets the job done. I also have Pinnacle Studio for Windows.

With any Mac I buy, a purchase of Paralells will of course be in order.

The things I need my Mac to do efficiently:
    1. Run Paralells or VMWare with at least fair speed.
    2. Be able to capture video and do a low to moderate capacity of video editing within Paralells.
    3. Be able to use MS Office and iWeb
    4. Run a moderate to high amount of programs at once.
    5. Be able to manipulate files from an SD card in my virtual machine. A good question from this is: I am aware that the 11-inch Air has no SD slot. Would it be possible to buy an adaptor for SD to USB and be able to manipulate files from SD on at least my virtual desktop if not my Mac?
    6. I also need to run small homebrew programs for Windows, but that won't be an issue, I trust.

Storage is not a problem since I throw most of my clips out after making them, and I also have a 5 GB family iDisk on MobileMe.