Capture component video via USB on G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. WalnutSpice macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #1
    I recently purchased a USB to RCA adapter for video capture, it works under Windows 10, of course, but it would also be useful on my G5. Is there any special PowerPC software that can do this?
    I think QuickTime 7 Pro can, but I'm not certain.
     
  2. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #2
    Elgato used to have their software under PowerPC. There is a chance for it to work if you can find an old version of the Elgato capture software.
     
  3. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #3
    Alright, Elgato is pretty big name though. It'll support generic hardware? I figured they'd only support their own.
     
  4. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

    MysticCow

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    #4
    It's a gamble, but it might be the only gamble you have.
     
  5. ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #5
    What about a HDMI video capture device? Just get a DVI to HDMI adapter. Or are you using ADC?
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    I believe the software being referenced is actually by EchoFX and is called VideoGlide. I have a Diamond video adapter that works great on PowerPC which uses this program. VideoGlide has a number of supported chipsets so you can give it a whack and see if it works.
     
  7. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #7
    I'm capture video via component (Red, White, Yellow) to USB 2.0.
     
  8. spf2 macrumors regular

    spf2

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Location:
    7exas
    #8
    I believe you are capturing using composite. Component is red/blue/green or YPBPR. I'd like to know if there are any compatible devices/software as well.
     
  9. ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #9
    Composite/RCA is a very poor choice for capturing Digital video from a PC. Do yourself a favor and get an HDMI capture device. Or don't. It's up to you really lol.
     
  10. davidg4781 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Alice, TX
    #10
    Just to make sure. You're wanting to record video on the PPC, correct?

    I think El Gato would be your best bet. When I had one of their boxes their software had a large selection of devices for me to choose form.

    Just curious, is there a big benefit to recoding onto the PPC vs W10? I have a FireWire input device (can't remember model) and I was going to record onto my mini. I do remember reading for my use using an older version of iMovie would be best.
     
  11. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    As others have stated try the ElGato software. It may also show up in iMovie as an input source
     
  12. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #12
    The benefit is that I won't be recording to my G5 but instead my PowerBook. My PowerBook is mobile. If I wanted to record from my cable box to my computer, I'd have to set up my desktop downstairs as opposed to just setting my laptop down there and plugging the component out from the cable into my usb capture device.
     
  13. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #13
    It's actually pretty okay. And I went this route because this capture device was $11.94. A nice HDMI capture card is around $110+
     
  14. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #14
    I am recording component, thats what I've been talking about
     
  15. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #15
    Wait, I won't be capturing from a PC. I'll be capturing from my cable box and using to play my 360 / PS3 (or other old consoles) on my computer screen with the occasional recording gameplay clips. I also have no issue with standard def because my eye sight isn't the best, so I can't see a hole deal of difference from 480p to 1080p anyway.
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #16
    I made a thread on this last year. I used the Diamond VC500Mac adapter and it worked fine.
     
  17. thesaz123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    York, PA, USA
    #17
    If you're planning on actually PLAYING the games through your computer via a capture card, you're gonna have a bad time. There is a 3-4 second delay, even with devices such as an Elgato Game Cap HD (Which I have previously owned)

    Devices like the Elgato have a passthrough to connect your console into it, connect to the computer, and then connect to your television.

    Oh and Edit: Just wanted to clarify that COMPONENT is NOT the same as COMPOSITE. If you want to capture the Yellow, Red, and White signals like you have previously stated, that is COMPOSITE. Composite is only capable of 360p/480i. Component is Blue, Green, Red, Red, and White, and is capable of 480p and higher.
     
  18. ifrit05 macrumors regular

    ifrit05

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Location:
    Near Detroit, MI. USA
    #18
    Not to mention Composite jams all the video information into one cable (Sync, Chrominance and Luminance), which makes it look terrible.
     
  19. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #19
    On my PC I have 0 delay at all. And yeah, I figured I was getting the two mixed up, sorry.
     
  20. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #20
    Low latency isn't going to happen with a USB device on a PowerMac.

    I used to get input lag (around 200ms) using a PS2 via S-Video into a PCI hardware capture card on a Windows PC. It was enough to make it difficult to play.

    As said above - Red/White/Yellow is composite - the red/white are audio, the yellow is low quality video.
    Red/Green/Blue (YPbPr) is component. You'd then need to add the red/white for audio.
     
  21. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #21
    I figured there'd be latency on PowerPC, but I won't be using it for gameplay like my PC. I'd just be using it as a DVR
     
  22. WalnutSpice thread starter macrumors 6502

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #22
    Also, I know what the cord colors are and mean, I just mixed up the names. I've been handling wires all my life it seems.
     
  23. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #23
    That's not what you said previously... ;)

     
  24. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland

Share This Page