Capture One Pro 8 is out

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by maflynn, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I've not had time to delve into the details, but looks like the announcement of the new version came today.

    Link:http://www.phaseone.com/en/Imaging-Software/Capture-One.aspx

    Looks like they're following Adobe's lead by offering a subscription to the app, though you still can buy it (not sure if that means future versions will be subscription only).
     
  2. HantaYo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    #2
    Downloaded and will take it for a spin.

    Thanks!
     
  3. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    CP still seems to have no facility to send an image to a pluggin and get the modified image back.

    Can they, and other photo editor companies that don't support plugins, seriously believe that their tools are enough and that no one has a need for additional editing in PS, Pixelmater, Nik, Perfect Photo...etc? That is a very "shallow DOF" product view and not one that supports the full workflow many photographers want and use.

    Still waiting for LR 6 and Photos.....unless someone else does plugins.
     
  4. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I just finished downloading it, and I'll give it a try over the next few days.

    If they've improved the DAM portion of the product, I'll be happy. I can live without plugins for my needs but better DAM is definitely needed.
     
  5. JDDavis macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #5
    Agreed. This is my #1 requirement. Unless something comes along that convinces me that it can do everything I want in house. For now though, I'll stick with Aperture/Nik and wait.
     
  6. Razeus macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
  7. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    I've said this before, the image processing of C1 is superior to LR and AP, but its UI and DAM seems lacking.

    I had some images that had excessive glare thanks to a setting sun, and C1 cleaned them up better the LR. I still think LR has better overall features, i.e., its a more rounded feature rich app then C1.

    I'm still putting version 8 through its paces and haven't decided against using it yet. I'll withhold judgement until I'm done working it.
     
  8. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    That isn't a first for them. They had a partial subscription model in the past with updates on versions of Capture One other than DB at the time, which worked only with Phase One backs. That was before they produced complete cameras through the remnants of mamiya.

    Have you ever tried Darktable or any of the opensource ones? If you're willing to put up with some hassle, you do pick up better color correction options. Color correction in 32 bit using something such as channel mixer offers a lot more control than you can easily obtain in the non-linear color spaces. That makes it pair well with one of the open source raw processors, because those allow you to output files at high bit depth in a gamma 1.0 encoding.

    I don't like Adobe's for various reasons. In my opinion the best workflow would be a richer toolset in a gamma 1.0 space with a color engine that can handle signed values in its PCS. Linear spaces deal better with a lot of color convergence issues that you will otherwise hit with heavy color correction.

    Did I mention I tried to write a raw processor a while ago? It's incredibly tedious due to the issues of modeling camera profiles and non-standard byte orders.
     

Share This Page