Capture One Pro 9

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by JDDavis, Dec 1, 2015.

  1. JDDavis macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #1
  2. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #2
    I'm curious. The upgrade is $100 (assuming one didn't just buy v8); the sub is a minimal $180/yr. Correct? So even paying for a yearly update (about as fast as Phase One issues them now) wouldn't the sub be more expensive? The web site didn't seem real clear to me on the advantages of subscribing.
     
  3. Apple fanboy macrumors P6

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #3
    I know you can now use it on three machines, so maybe you could buy it between you and a friend.
     
  4. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #4
    I suppose it's a function of time and if you already have C1P-8. I haven't actually checked yet and I suppose it's an assumption on my part (and I hope I'm not wrong) but the upgrade to 9 should be part of my subscription. As in I just keep paying the monthly subscription and I'm allowed to upgrade (I actually paid $10 a month for the first 12 months). Again, I'm assuming the decision is $299 for a license and then $99 for each major upgrade or just $15 a month indefinitely.

    The subscription provides some level of convenience I suppose and it avoids the up front cost but I'd say given enough time the license and upgrade path would be cheaper. Don't quote me on it but I believe one benefit of subscribing is you get updated features sooner rather than waiting for the major revision to come up. I could be wrong about that with C1P, though.
     
  5. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #5
    Most folks would already know but I wasn't sure (new user). The upgrade to 9 is part of the subscription license. Download 9, enter your subscription license number, re-link you're catalog and you are all good to go. Interestingly it did not replace Capture One 8 in my applications but installed 9 as a new application.
     
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    Just installed, yes it installs as a seperate app to v8 - worth mentioning that it requires a catalog update to v9 so I assume regressing to v8 may not be possible?

    Also nice is that it maintains your workspaces, tabs, styles etc etc
     
  7. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #7
    I was a bit worried when I saw the new application but, like you said, once you upgrade the catalog everything was there just as before. I think I read that when you activate 9 your license on 8 deactivates. Not sure and I haven't tried opening 8 (no reason to). Perhaps it was just cheaper / easier not to write the code in to get rid of 8 and it's left to us to drag it to the trash.
     
  8. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    Not to be a downer, but the upgrade is kind of expensive for previous owners. It is akin to Adobe pricing for their subscription for Lightroom/Photoshop. It seems like just months ago the previous upgrade came out. Hmmmm
     
  9. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #9
    8 has been out a year or so, the upgrade price covers 7 and 8 for purchasers (it is free for v8 subscribers), which, if consistent, gives you the option to skip a version at no cost...seems reasonable to me, much preferable to the Aperture "becomes nearly free but dies" situation.
     
  10. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #10
    I agree...there are certainly less expensive options out there than C1Pro. I'm pretty pleased with my investment so far. Especially since I subscribed and I've only been in it for less than a year. So I'm into v9 for less than $120 vs $299 + $99. Now...obviously it only takes a matter of time before the subscription cost eclipses the cost of buying the license and upgrades out right. But that may depend on how often the release major upgrades. I was hesitant on the subscription thing but so far I think it's been good.
     
  11. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #11
    Yeah, Im a subscriber too and a recently new adapter to CO coming from LR. After getting used to it a bit, Im happy I made the switch. I think it does a much better job of processing the raw files.
     
  12. MacSociology macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Battleground Europe?!
    #12
    I'll think I'll wait a bit until I upgrade so any bugs have been hammered out. I'll have to do some calculations to make any conclusions if I will move over to a subscription or not.

    But I love CP. Never been looking back after I transferred to CP a few years back.
     
  13. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #13
    So far so good for me. I haven't experienced any bugs. Everything was seamless for the upgrade. I reprocessed a few older images and it seems like things like contrast and the clarity sliders do an even better job then before. Color editor seems better too. I did notice that the new "Luma" feature had a notice in the tab that said my processing engine needed to be updated. I'm not sure if it means my computer (it is a 2010 MBP) or if it's something that has to be updated in the software. I haven't had time to look into it.
     
  14. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #14

    That means that the photo was processed with co8 and that to use the feature your looking at, the process engine needs to be co9. There will be a button next to the feature that will upgrade the process to co9, but keep in mind that once you do that, the photo won't work in co8.
     
  15. Dc2006ster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #15
    This can be done with the Base Characteristics tool which for me is under the Colour tab> Base Characteristics. You will see the option to upgrade to the Version 9 colour engine. This can be applied to a single image or to multiple images at the same time. Doing this opens up that Luma feature.
     
  16. JDDavis thread starter macrumors 65816

    JDDavis

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #16
    Aha! Thanks for the info. I'll take a look when I get back in it. I haven't imported any new images since I upgraded so everything in there has already been processed.
     
  17. Dc2006ster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #17
    Any images currently in your catalog will have been processed with the version 8 engine and will have to be updated to the new engine if you want to apply the new Luma feature. I did that and had no problems. In fact there was no difference that I could see but if desired I could adjust the Luma. New images imported will be processed with the version 9 engine.
     
  18. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #18

    Photos from CO8 catalogs that you import into CO9 will not automatically be upgraded to the CO9 engine. You have to select the photo/photos and convert them to the new engine.
     
  19. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #19
    LOL Dc2006 were taking turns to be the first to say the same thing.
     

Share This Page