Capturing Footage onto Mac from TV?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by KUguy505, Nov 16, 2009.

1. KUguy505 macrumors newbie

I am a video editor who uses Final Cut Pro every day. I have recently taken up a habit of creating my own movie trailers from existing movies and messing around in other aspects of editing just for fun.

However, I really want to get my feet wet with editing basketball games shown on TV and creating a montage of PS3 game footage, all in HD.

I have seen products out there for Mac that allow you to record and watch live TV; however, I already have an HD-DVR cable box through Time Warner cable and I record all of my programs on there just fine. I just want to find out how I can import/capture this footage to my computer if I were to play it back on the TV. The same goes with my PS3. I'd like to be able to play through a game and have all of the footage capture to my hard drive on my computer.

I have an iMac 3.06 ghz Intel G5 from May 2008. Has anyone ever done this before? Price really isn't too much of an issue (although anything over $500 might be a little much) so ANY suggestions would help tremendously. I basically want to capture in a way so I retain the true HD aspects of the HD-DVR box and PS3 and not lose any quality upon capturing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. spice weasel macrumors 65816

If your DVR supports it, you can capture the transport stream via firewire. Download Apple's FireWire SDK and use the AVCVidCap application. Connect your Mac to your DVR via firewire, set up the DVR to play whatever program you want to copy, and click to have AVCVidCap start recording the stream. It captures in real time.

You'll need the QuickTime MPEG-2 plugin to view the stream in MPEG Streamclip, but if you are using Final Cut then you already have it.