Capturing from DVD camera - to FCP big problems

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by ghaw, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. ghaw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #1
    I have a dvd camera set up to my new MBP, I am using FCP 5.4.1 When I log & capture it recognizes my VTR, but preview is disabled. I want to capture the whole tape but when I press capture now button - it spins forever. I can't escape & I can't force quit either. The only way to stop it is to shut down the camera. I have also tried to capture a 2 min sequence using edit points without success. What do I do? Thanks in advance
     
  2. coil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #2
    Are you sure that it is possible? Is the camera recording AVCHD onto the DVD? If so FCP does not support it. If you are using some other codec I don't know. You may have to head over to Apple's website first.
    phil
     
  3. ghaw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #3
    to answer

    The camera is not HD - and I can capture just fine into iMovie, but not FCP. Thanks
     
  4. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #4
    FCP 6.0.1 DOES support AVCHD

    Only and finally FCP 6.0.1 DOES support AVCHD.
     
  5. coil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #5
    But apparently only on macs with Intel processors.
     

Share This Page