Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jbonante

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 16, 2007
Hello All,

I've just recently purchased a Sony HDR FX-7 camcorder and have been shooting in both HDV and DV formats.

I'm using the newest final cut pro bundle as well.

When i shoot in DV i first set my audio/video settings in final cut pro and BAM! it works like a pro. So far to hang ups but im new to capturing HD footage and thats were the problem comes in.

When i set up Final Cut Pro to capture my HDV video i use the following settings:

sequence preset: HDV - 1080i60
capture preset: HDV
device control preset: Sony HDV FireWire

I've tried other setting to but the the problem is not getting FCP to recognize the camera it after i actually log the footage and play it back.

Once the video is captured into fcp and i got play it back it looks "shinny" and any movement has distorted lines through it? I don't know any other way to explain this other then the footage looks horrible and un-useable.

I'm also on a new, 3 month old mac-book pro with leopard OS and 2 GB of ram.

just a thought.. i have two video cards. If i switch to the the higher quality one will the video look better then?

Any suggestions why this might be happening?

Thanks in advance!

xStep

macrumors 68020
Jan 28, 2003
Less lost in L.A.
I once connected to a Sony HDV camera that had to have a menu item set before transferring HD video to the computer. Check the manual to see if that might be an issue.

As for the 'shinny' effect, post a picture.

For performance reasons you likely should use the better video card when editing. That might give better looking video when doing some editing tasks. It shouldn't make any difference for finished exported video files.

jbonante

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 16, 2007