Car charger question.

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by StephenCampbell, Aug 19, 2010.

1. StephenCampbell macrumors 65816

So, I've been hesitant to use a car charger with my iPhone 4 because I've read stuff about car chargers destroying batteries or not working and stuff, but my friend has this CH102 USB car charger, and insists that 5V to USB is 5V to USB, and that it would work with the phone just fine. I tested it with my iPhone 1, and it seemed to work. Do you think it's okay to use with the iPhone 4? It would be really handy since I'm currently on the road about 10 hours a day.

Thanks.

2. ephailey macrumors member

I'm no expert but I have always used a car charger. No problems. Apple even makes one for the iPhone. Can't imagine what the problem would be.

3. Rajani Isa macrumors 65816

Rajani Isa

The one you buy at AT&T even has a hidden USB slot if you need to charge your bluetooth if it's USB.

4. Shasta McNasty macrumors 6502a

Shasta McNasty

Its fine to charge your battery with a car charger. I've been doing it since the first iPhone with no problems at all

5. StephenCampbell thread starter macrumors 65816

This USB car charger says the output is 5V - 700mA, whereas the iPhone wall charger says 5V - 1A, which means that the car charger only outputs seven hundred thousandths of what the iPhone wall adapter does (1000mA = 1A). Is that normal, and does it not pose any problems for charging?

I just want to make absolutely certain, since this charger wasn't sold as a specifically "iPhone car charger."

6. ephailey macrumors member

Volts is what matters. Amp is how fast it charges.

7. StephenCampbell thread starter macrumors 65816

So if it's USB and 5 volts, it can't harm my battery? Even if it's a $2 charger? It's the CH102, it can be looked up. I'd appreciate it if someone could confirm that it's definitely okay to use. Thanks!

8. h1r0ll3r macrumors 68040

h1r0ll3r