Carbon Copy Cloner for PPC?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by HereBeMonsters, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. HereBeMonsters macrumors 6502

    HereBeMonsters

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Fareham, UK
    #1
    Anyone know where I can download an old copy of CCC that works on PPC Macs? None of the versions still available at https://bombich.com/download work with PPC. I'm running 10.5.8 on all my PPC Macs if that makes a difference.
     
  2. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #2
    3.4.4 I believe is the last version to work with Tiger/Leopard. I haven't added it to the archive yet.
     
  3. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #3
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    3.4.7 works with PowerPC Macs and is the last of the free versions.
     
  5. HereBeMonsters thread starter macrumors 6502

    HereBeMonsters

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Fareham, UK
    #5
  6. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #6
    A recovery partition on a PPC Mac? Are you sure you are looking for the PPC version?
     
  7. HereBeMonsters thread starter macrumors 6502

    HereBeMonsters

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Fareham, UK
    #7
    Sorry, I mean if I used that instead of CCC on my x86 Mac.

    But yes, this does look like a good idea for the PPC ones - just wondering if the latest version can do what CCC does for 10.6 and beyond..?
     
  8. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #8
    Never tried but I don't see why not. All of these apps are just fancy GUIs for hdiutil at the end of the day.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    huiutil isn't what is used. SuperDuper and CarbonCopyCloner use rsync. You can manually make a recovery partition by making a small partition with Disk Utility and then copying over a fresh installation of OS X onto it.
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    SD does not clone the Recovery HD partition and CCC does. Beyond that one key difference, they are very similar in function.
     
  11. HereBeMonsters thread starter macrumors 6502

    HereBeMonsters

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Fareham, UK
    #11
    So if I want to clone bootable volumes, I need to purchase CCC (for my x86 Mac)?
     
  12. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #12
    No... you can have a bootable clone without the recovery partition on there. The issue is if you ever need to restore from the clone there would be no recovery partition to clone back over to say a new drive. Even that might be okay as long as you don't need any of the functions the recovery partition allows, such as Filevault encryption or Find My Mac. And of course you would not have the recovery partition there as a troubleshooting tool.

    Personally, I would get CCC to have the recovery partition in place.
     
  13. HereBeMonsters thread starter macrumors 6502

    HereBeMonsters

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    Fareham, UK
    #13
    Thanks. I do think it's worth it - I've used CCC for free so much over the years that I'm sure I owe them a purchase!

    But for the PPC ones, I'll have a look at SuperDuper.
     

Share This Page